Every Choice Counts

“Every day we make choices. Then our choices make us.” – Lysa TerKeurst, “The Best Yes”

Such a powerful statement packed into a few words!

My question for you today is “Do our choices define who we are?

Honestly, at first I was tempted to say “yes.” But, as I thought about it, I quickly realized that God is the only one that defines us; his words define us:

who-i-am-in-christ

Scripture clearly tells me who I am. So why do I find the above statement from Lysa so powerful? Well, because she is not saying our choices define us, she is saying our choices affect our lives here on earth.

It gets a little clearer when you read another one of her statements in The Best Yes:

“The decisions we make, make the life we live. So if we want to live better, we’ve got to decide better.”

When we make bad decisions or bad choices, we reap consequences. Some of those consequences are not seen right away, but they are there, trust me. Now her new book The Best Yes, which comes out August 12, deals with the endless demands put on us and teaches us how to make better decisions and doesn’t necessarily cover mistakes and mess ups as described yesterday, but I can clearly see how the same principles would apply. [* Please note I have only read little blurbs from the book, not the entire book.]

Galatians 6:7-10 (NIV):

Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. 8 Whoever sows to please their flesh, from the flesh will reap destruction; whoever sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life. 9 Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. 10 Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.

As you may be able to tell, a few of my mess ups lately are still weighing heavy on my mind. No, I am not letting them keep me down, but I am reflecting on them in order to learn what God wants me to learn as I don’t want have to go around this mountain again. I have to learn to make better decisions in the moment. I should know by now that it may feel good in the moment, but God is going to get a hold of me, and there is going to be a round of apologies to come. Why oh why, is it taking me so long to get a hold of my tongue?

I am a work in progress and I guess some of us take longer than others. *Insert frowney face* (which I don’t know how to do on here..lol)

Have a blessed day,
Missy

Leave a Reply

