Beyond the Book Review-New Series

Tomorrow I will be starting a reoccurring series called “Beyond the Book Review” where I will be taking a closer look at my favorite books and going beyond the standard book review. Don’t get me wrong, book reviews are great and helpful for those of us looking for our next great read, but for those who wouldn’t read a book, let alone a Christian book,if you paid them, this should be a way to get the highlights of some very great books. Who knows, it may actually lead you to read the whole book. For those of us who already love to read, this will be a great time to share and discuss.

The first book we will be taking a look at is Not a Fan by Kyle Idleman.

notafan_idleman

“Are you a follower of Jesus? Don’t answer too quickly. In fact, you may want to read this book before you answer at all. Consider it a ‘Define the Relationship’ conversation to determine exactly where you stand. You may indeed be a passionate, fully devoted follower of Jesus. Or, you may be just a fan who admires Jesus but isn’t ready to let him cramp your style. Then again, maybe you’re not into Jesus, period. In any case, don’t take the question—Are you a follower of Jesus?—lightly. Some people don’t know what they’ve said yes to and other people don’t realize what they’ve said no to, says Pastor Kyle Idleman. But Jesus is ready to clearly define the relationship he wants with his followers. Not a Fan calls you to consider the demands and rewards of being a true disciple. With frankness sprinkled with humor, Idleman invites you to live the way Jesus lived, love the way he loved, pray the way he prayed, and never give up living for the One who gave his all for you.”

This book honestly changed me forever and I can’t wait to share and discuss it with you.

Until tomorrow,
Missy

3 thoughts on “Beyond the Book Review-New Series

  1. Dear Missy,

    Thank you so much for your new book review column! I am very excited to read it because I am always on the lookout for books I need to read. At the back of my desk calendar, I have a page I titled “Books I Want to Read”. On your recommendation, I listed this book on it. I look forward to what you have to say about it.

    Having been blogging only sporadically lately, I have missed reading some of your recent work and did not notice your new layout until today. It is simply breath-taking. You have done an amazing job with it.

    Sending hugs and thankful prayers your way,

    Gwennon

    Revelation 21:1-5

    1. Thank you! I am glad to see you are back. You have been missed. I am pleased with my blog makeover and I am glad you like it too. Thanks again for all your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

