Holy Week: Day 4

Holy Week: Day 4: Wednesday

Good news, I am almost caught up. Yah!

There seems to be some confusion regarding what exactly happened on Holy Wednesday. Some scholars believe this was a day of rest for Jesus. Others contend he did more preaching at the temple. Some say this was the day that Judas meet with the leaders and made the deal to betray Jesus.

I am not sure it really matters in the long run, but I believe I made a few mistakes in my earlier writings and I would like to take the time to clear them up.

First, it was my belief that Jesus rested on this day, but now I am not so sure.

Luke 21:37-38 (NIV): Each day Jesus was teaching at the temple, and each evening he went out to spend the night on the hill called the Mount of Olives, 38 and all the people came early in the morning to hear him at the temple.

This seems to imply that Jesus was teaching everyday of the Holy Week.

Secondly, yesterday I stated that Judas entered into a contract to betray Jesus on Tuesday, when there is a good possibility it was on Wednesday.

The main reason I believed it occurred on Tuesday was that it went right along with the teachings on Tuesday. Matthew 24 & 25 and Mark 13 were just discussing the destruction of the Temple and the End of Times and went right into the next chapter without mention of a new day. However, I did not remember that the Jewish day ended at sunset.

Mark 14:1-11 (NIV): Now the Passover and the Festival of Unleavened Bread were only two days away, and the chief priests and the teachers of the law were scheming to arrest Jesus secretly and kill him. 2 “But not during the festival,” they said, “or the people may riot.”
3 While he was in Bethany, reclining at the table in the home of Simon the Leper, a woman came with an alabaster jar of very expensive perfume, made of pure nard. She broke the jar and poured the perfume on his head.
4 Some of those present were saying indignantly to one another, “Why this waste of perfume? 5 It could have been sold for more than a year’s wages[a] and the money given to the poor.” And they rebuked her harshly.
6 “Leave her alone,” said Jesus. “Why are you bothering her? She has done a beautiful thing to me. 7 The poor you will always have with you,[b] and you can help them any time you want. But you will not always have me. 8 She did what she could. She poured perfume on my body beforehand to prepare for my burial. 9 Truly I tell you, wherever the gospel is preached throughout the world, what she has done will also be told, in memory of her.”
10 Then Judas Iscariot, one of the Twelve, went to the chief priests to betray Jesus to them.11 They were delighted to hear this and promised to give him money. So he watched for an opportunity to hand him over.

I think the words “while He was in Bethany” are key to the timeline. If Jesus had been preaching in Jerusalem all day, and now he is back in Bethany, it is likely evening (after dusk); therefore, making it possible that Judas’ betrayal took place on Wednesday.

Another possibility is that my counting is off because I am counting the way we do, here in the US, today, and not necessarily how they counted back them (see link 3 below).

Okay, this is where things get a littler murkier.

Thirdly, I previously stated that the Passover meal was the Last Supper. I didn’t realize there was so much debate on the topic.

I am not sure either way to be honest. I don’t know that much about Jewish customs to be teaching on it. Below are links to other articles that do a much better job of explaining it than I ever could. I encourage you all to check them out.

http://www.herealittletherealittle.net/index.cfm?page_name=Last-Supper-Passover-Meal
http://biblicalhorizons.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/was-the-last-supper-a-passover/
http://www.agapebiblestudy.com/documents/Jesus%20Last%20Week%20in%20Jerusalem.htm
http://www.livingtheway.org/trecek.html

I don’t have an absolute answer to the question of whether or not the Last Supper was the Passover meal. I am not even sure how to count at this point (lol). Do we count the way they did back then or when the Bible was interpreted into our language did they change it to our counting system (see article three)? I started off believing the Last Supper was indeed on Passover, then I began to believe it could not have been, and now I am back to believing it was. Yep, I’m a little wishy-washy. I plan to talk more about this later, but I would love to hear from you.

Don’t be shy, come on and help a girl out!

Missy

One thought on “Holy Week: Day 4

Leave a Reply

