Does God Know Me? (Can’t Get No Satisfaction Part 6 of 6)

Isaiah 55:1-3 (NLT): “Is anyone thirsty? Come and drink—even if you have no money! Come, take your choice of wine or milk— it’s all free! 2 Why spend your money on food that does not give you strength? Why pay for food that does you no good? Listen to me, and you will eat what is good. You will enjoy the finest food. 3 “Come to me with your ears wide open. Listen, and you will find life. I will make an everlasting covenant with you. I will give you all the unfailing love I promised to David.”

1. Are you thirsty?
2. Are you relying on your own resources and abilities?
3. Are you wasting your time and resources on people and things?
4. Are you truly listening to God?
5. Do you have a relationship with God?

Today we will complete our short little series on satisfaction. Fittingly, we will end it with the most life changing aspect or requirement for true satisfaction.

5. Do you have a relationship with God? (I will make an everlasting covenant with you. I will give you all the unfailing love I promised to David.)

What is a covenant? I think it is most often described as a pact or an agreement between two parties. It can also be defined as an oath or a promise. I personally think of it as a promise involving two or more people. Anyway you describe it, a covenant brings to people together, forming a relationship. Now the quality or quantity of the relationship is up to the two individuals, just as it is with us and God.

God wants to have a relationship with us.

Leviticus 26:12: I will walk among you and be your God, and you will be my people.

This simple verse describes what God wants: a relationship. We are to acknowledge God as our one and only and then he will be with us always. We will seek him as well because he is our God and we are His people. We are children of God!

1 John 3:1- Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God: therefore the world knoweth us not, because it knew him not.

Clearly God intended us to have a relationship as he compares our relationship with Him to that of our earthly fathers. Do most of us not have a relationship with our parents?

When Jesus Christ died for our sins, he tore the veil that separated us from a relationship with God. Prior to that our sins prevented us from entering into the Holiest of Holies and being with God. Once we accept Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior there is nothing standing between us and God. Can I get an amen?

A lot of people would say that they love the Lord, but do their actions support this statement? Like any good relationship, a relationship with God takes work, but if you truly love the Lord you will want to please Him, spend time in His word, spend time in prayer, worship Him with song and actions, and just be with Him. I talk to God many, many times throughout the day. I honestly feel God with me almost all the time. When I worship, I look like a crazy lady because His spirit rises up in me and I can’t help but sing with overwhelming joy. However, this only came after I developed an honest relationship with him. My desire to worship, spend time with God, and walk in obedience is a product of my relationship with God. The peace I have is a product of my relationship with God. I couldn’t be more thankful.

Just because we go to church every week, are involved in numerous church activities, and have special giftings does not mean we know God or God knows us.

Matthew 7:21-23: “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22 Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’

God wants to be your best friend, the one you confide in, and trust to help you through. He doesn’t just want our acts of service. Look at Martha and Mary. Martha got so caught up in the preparations for Jesus’ visit that she failed to make time for Jesus. Furthermore, she became angry with her sister Mary when Mary failed to do her part because she was sitting at the feet of Jesus.

Who did Jesus chastise? Well, it was not Mary.

To be honest, I never liked this story. I have a tenancy to be Martha and I could understand why she was mad at her sister Mary. It was not like the meal was going to make and serve itself! However, what I have now come to understand is it is not that Jesus was chastising Martha for wanting to serve as she had been taught, but rather because her heart was all about the chores and not about Jesus. We too can get so caught up doing that we forget to spend time with Christ. This includes doing stuff for church as well.

I honestly believe our ability to live a victorious life in Christ comes only from a true, genuine relationship with the God-head. You need to know the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit and they need to know you. This is the only way our souls will ever be satisfied.

For a brief overview: In order to be truly satisfied in this life we must thirst for God, stop relying on our own self, stop seeking things other than God, honestly listen to God, and form a genuine relationship with God. It is as simple as that (lol)!

I have included a song called Here I am by David Upton. I believe he is a worship leader in California. I just found him on You Tube by accident and fell in love with his songs. This song in particular hits home because I spent many years chasing “things” in order to be happy. Now, all I want is to say to God is “here I am, use me!”

Have a blessed day!
Missy

Leave a Reply

