Stop, Look, and Listen to God (Can’t Get No Satisfaction Part 5)

th

Isaiah 55:1-3 (NLT): “Is anyone thirsty? Come and drink—even if you have no money! Come, take your choice of wine or milk— it’s all free! 2 Why spend your money on food that does not give you strength? Why pay for food that does you no good? Listen to me, and you will eat what is good. You will enjoy the finest food. 3 “Come to me with your ears wide open. Listen, and you will find life. I will make an everlasting covenant with you. I will give you all the unfailing love I promised to David.”

1. Are you thirsty?
2. Are you relying on your own resources and abilities?
3. Are you wasting your time and resources on people and things?
4. Are you truly listening to God?
5. Do you have a relationship with God?

As we have talked about, and as many of you already knew, true, lasting satisfaction can only come from God and walking in His will for our lives. Many of us spend too much time chasing “things” instead of God. Over the last week we have seen how our thirst, reliance on God, and how we spend our time and resource directly affect our satisfaction. Today we will look at how our obedience affects our satisfaction. [Yep, you knew I was going through obedience in here somewhere!]

4. Are you truly listening to God? (Listen to me, and you will eat what is good. You will enjoy the finest food. 3 “Come to me with your ears wide open. Listen, and you will find life.)

What does it really mean to listen? Ask any wife or mother and I bet she will tell you there is a difference between hearing and listening.

Listen as defined by Merriam Webster means to hear what someone has said and understand that it is serious, important, or true. I would go a step further and say that listening often involves doing something as well. When we truly listen and give the speaker’s word the importance they are expecting, it often leads to action. When a mother gives instructions to her children, she doesn’t want them just to hear her, she wants them to do what she has instructed.

James 1:22 (NKJ): 22 But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves.

Some of us know a lot of what the Bible says, others may be just learning; however, as I have said many times over in my blog, it is not enough to know what the Lord says, but to follow it as well!

The instructions in Isaiah 55 are clear: If you listen to God’s word we will “eat what is good”, which means that our lives will be good. Now, it is not to say we won’t have problems or trials, but rather we will have peace and satisfaction. I have found this to be very true in my own life. This last year and half has been a real trial for me and my husband, but because I have a strong relationship with Christ and I’m trying to walk in obedience, I have peace like I have never known before.

Listen to me, and you will eat what is good. You will enjoy the finest food. 3 “Come to me with your ears wide open. Listen, and you will find life.

Have a blessed day!
Missy

One thought on “Stop, Look, and Listen to God (Can’t Get No Satisfaction Part 5)

  1. thank you, the article and the true happiness rays began to warm hearts, when we share it with sincerity. Greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

Leave a Reply

