Because the Lord Has Anointed Me

It is finally Friday!!!! I promise to keep it short today as no one likes to think too deeply on a Friday.

Isaiah 61:1-4 (NLT): “The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon Me,
Because the LORD has anointed Me
To preach good tidings to the poor;
He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted,
To proclaim liberty to the captives,
And the opening of the prison to those who are bound;
2 To proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD,
And the day of vengeance of our God;
To comfort all who mourn,
3 To console those who mourn in Zion,
To give them beauty for ashes,
The oil of joy for mourning,
The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness;
That they may be called trees of righteousness,
The planting of the LORD, that He may be glorified.”

When I first felt a call on my life to do work in ministry, I thought I was supposed to be discipling young Christians. After all, I spent many years desperately wanting someone to take me under his or her wings and show me the way. It only seemed like a natural fit. Then, a little bit over time I started to feel a pull to the lost, but that didn’t feel exactly right either. I was beginning to doubt myself and even God, and then I read this verse and I finally understood that we are to reach out and minister to everyone. I am not called to one specific group or the other. I am called to serve and minister to anyone God places in my path.

You see, we are called to preach the good news to the lost, but our service doesn’t end there. We are then supposed to help bring them along and help them out as they build their relationship with Christ. Also, there are many saved Christians sitting in church pews secure in their salvation but need guidance when it comes to applying Christ’s word in their lives. Christians can be bound. Christians can still be captives. Christians can be brokenhearted. Yes, salvation is important, but so is discipleship. We are all called to preach to the poor, brokenhearted, captives, the bound, and those who mourn. Those include the saved and the unsaved. Furthermore, we don’t have to be missionaries to minister, preach, and teach. It is my belief that we are called to do so. “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature.” (Mark 16:15)

As my community says goodbye to a young mother who lost her short battle with cancer, I am reminded that we cannot take tomorrows for granted. We never know if we will have another chance to speak Christ to someone again. While this young mother was a Christian and we can rejoice for her homecoming, how many of our friends and family are not saved? Just like we don’t know when our last breath will be taken, we don’t know when theirs will be either. I’d hate to think someone I love will face an eternity without God because I was afraid, embarrassed, or ashamed to minister.

Where ever you go this weekend, it is my prayer that God will place one person in your path so that you may minister.

Have a blessed weekend!
Missy

Leave a Reply

