Are You Starving to Death?

Some of you may have noticed that my writings this week have been short and few. Well, the truth is that I am doing a “cleanse” for health reasons, which only allows for a small amount of steamed vegetables and vegetable juice throughout the day for a week. Now, if you know me or have seen a picture of me, you know I like to eat, so this has not been easy. I feel like I am starving to death. My head is real heavy and it takes a great effort to get through my day.

I don’t like it, not one little bit.

The good news is that God works everything for the good of those who love Him and have been called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28). What good has come out of this starvation diet? I realized how much missing meals affects my physical body, which lead me to think about how much I starve my spirit when I skip out on God’s word. Just like our physical body, our spiritual being needs fed.

Psalm 63:1-5 (NLT): You, God, are my God,
earnestly I seek you;
I thirst for you,
my whole being longs for you,
in a dry and parched land
where there is no water.
2 I have seen you in the sanctuary
and beheld your power and your glory.
3 Because your love is better than life,
my lips will glorify you.
4 I will praise you as long as I live,
and in your name I will lift up my hands.
5 I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods;
with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

You see, just like our physical body, our spiritual beings hunger and thirst. They hunger and thirst for our Lord. We will never be satisfied until we are full with the Lord.

Now, I have been hungry before, but I have never been this hungry, and I was surprised to find that I just feel empty.

[I love how God times everything, because I was reading Beth Moore’s Breaking Free today (which I started in January and love, but have been re-directed) and it touches on this topic exactly.]

Just like my deep hunger leaves me feeling empty and is a symptom of my need for food, spiritual emptiness is a sign we need more God.

“The most obvious symptom of a soul in need of God’s satisfaction is a sense of inner emptiness. The awareness of a ‘hollow place’ somewhere deep inside-the inability to be satisfied.

The soul can also manifest physical symptoms of need. I like to think of it this way: Just like my stomach growls when I’m hungry for physical food, my spirit tends to growl when I’m in need of spiritual food. When a checker at the grocery store seems overtly irritable or grouchy, I sometimes grin and think to myself ‘I bet her kids woke up before she had a chance to have her quiet time!’ I can certainly assure you that my personality is distinctively different when I haven’t had the time I need with the Lord. My soul can do some pretty fierce growling!

How about you? Does your hungry soul ever manifest physical symptoms such as irritability, selfish ambitions, anger, impure thoughts, envy, resentments, and eruptions of lust?” (Breaking Free pp. 38-39)

I can definitely relate to what Beth Moore is saying. When I haven’t had my “God time” I get a little grouchy and irritable just as easily as I do when I am hungry. It reminds me of those Snickers commercials in which someone isn’t themselves when they are hungry. We too are not who God made us to be if we are spiritually starved. We need God’s word to refuel us just as much as we need food because we can have spiritual starvation that leads to death as easily, if not more so, than food.

Well, my brain isn’t working all that well without my physical food, so I’ll keep it short today.

Make sure you get your fill of God and have a blessed day,

Missy

2 thoughts on “Are You Starving to Death?

Leave a Reply

