The “Unlikelys”

I have always been big on friendship and loyalty. The concept of a “team” has always fascinated me. I have often thought about (fantasized) about being part of a team that is working for God. When I read the Left Behind Series all those years ago I was especially drawn to the team concept. Here were several ordinary people working together for God to conquer the Anti-Christ. I just couldn’t get enough of it.

It should not surprise me then to find myself now being called to a team. I feel God is preparing me and several others to step up and reach out. I am not completely sure what is coming, but I know I am being prepared and I am so excited about what is to come. It took me a long time to believe that God could use me to do His work, but that is exactly what is happening.

I am not bragging here. I am not good enough to do anything for God. I am nothing special. I am an ordinary woman who gets it wrong more than she gets it right, but I do try. Oh, how I do try; however, the point here is that God often chooses unlikely people, like myself, to do His work because that way he is sure to get the glory.

Over and over in the Bible we see God choosing “unlikelys” in ministry. Mary, the mother of Jesus, was a young woman (girl) who was seemingly ordinary. She didn’t have any outstanding intelligence or extraordinary talents. No, what she did have was a heart for God and the willingness to be obedient and serve. Moses had a speech problem and an ugly past. David, well we know David messed up and messed up a lot, but he had a heart for God. Oh, and we can’t forget Gideon. Gideon was not the obvious choice as a leader. He didn’t have many of the attributes one would attribute to a good warrior or leader, but he was God’s choice. As we all know, if you are God’s choice, no fire of Hell can overtake you. Which leads me to a great sermon I heard yesterday on Truth for Life Ministries. I know it is long, but I promise you it is worth your time.

http://www.truthforlife.org/broadcasts/2014/02/13/gideon-gods-choice-part-1-of-2/

For those of you who are not going to listen, review Judges 7 and Dueteronmy 20.

Judges 7:1-7 (NIV): Gideon Defeats the Midianites

7 Early in the morning, Jerub-Baal (that is, Gideon) and all his men camped at the spring of Harod. The camp of Midian was north of them in the valley near the hill of Moreh. 2 The LORDsaid to Gideon, “You have too many men. I cannot deliver Midian into their hands, or Israel would boast against me, ‘My own strength has saved me.’ 3 Now announce to the army, ‘Anyone who trembles with fear may turn back and leave Mount Gilead.’” So twenty-two thousand men left, while ten thousand remained.
4 But the LORD said to Gideon, “There are still too many men. Take them down to the water, and I will thin them out for you there. If I say, ‘This one shall go with you,’ he shall go; but if I say, ‘This one shall not go with you,’ he shall not go.”
5 So Gideon took the men down to the water. There the LORD told him, “Separate those who lap the water with their tongues as a dog laps from those who kneel down to drink.” 6 Three hundred of them drank from cupped hands, lapping like dogs. All the rest got down on their knees to drink.
7 The LORD said to Gideon, “With the three hundred men that lapped I will save you and give the Midianites into your hands. Let all the others go home.” 8 So Gideon sent the rest of the Israelites home but kept the three hundred, who took over the provisions and trumpets of the others.

Deuteronmy 20: 1-9 (NIV):When you go to war against your enemies and see horses and chariots and an army greater than yours, do not be afraid of them, because the LORD your God, who brought you up out of Egypt, will be with you. 2 When you are about to go into battle, the priest shall come forward and address the army. 3 He shall say: “Hear, Israel: Today you are going into battle against your enemies. Do not be fainthearted or afraid; do not panic or be terrified by them. 4 For the LORD your God is the one who goes with you to fight for you against your enemies to give you victory.”
5 The officers shall say to the army: “Has anyone built a new house and not yet begun to live in it? Let him go home, or he may die in battle and someone else may begin to live in it. 6 Has anyone planted a vineyard and not begun to enjoy it? Let him go home, or he may die in battle and someone else enjoy it. 7 Has anyone become pledged to a woman and not married her? Let him go home, or he may die in battle and someone else marry her.” 8 Then the officers shall add, “Is anyone afraid or fainthearted? Let him go home so that his fellow soldiers will not become disheartened too.” 9 When the officers have finished speaking to the army, they shall appoint commanders over it.

These chapters are addressing those getting ready to go into battle. Instructions are given on who should and should not be going into battle. Those who are afraid; those who are preoccupied with their personal lives. War is not for the fainthearted. Ministry is not for the fainthearted. God wants his people to take His work seriously. He don’t want a bunch of part-timers. He wants people who are all in. Sometimes, God dwindles the numbers so that His team is made up of such people. He dwindles out the weak, so the remaining can be strong. We will often be surprised to find just who the strong ones really are. Like I said above, you don’t have to be voted most likely to succeed to be used by God. You just have to have a heart of willingness and obedience.

I don’t know about you, but I take great comfort in knowing God will use the most unlikely. I am excited to see how God is going to use this girl for His glory.

Happy Valentine’s Day and until next time, stay safe and God bless,

Missy

Leave a Reply

