Lessons from Kings

Happy Wednesday to you all! It was a short work week for me as I am off with another snow day today and off the rest of the week for a women’s conference. Yeah God!

Yesterday I stated that I have compassion for those in need and the sick. Friday, I confessed that I don’t have the heart for the lost as I should. It is sad, but so true. I am praying for a heart for the lost, but it seems to be slow coming.

I would like to emphasis on this whole “heart for the lost” thing. You see, my heart goes out to those who have not heard the word or just haven’t had much opportunity to know the Lord. I am more than open to minister to those who may not know but want to know. It those who seem to think they have everything figured out and don’t need or want anything to do with “our God” that really makes my ministry difficult. This is the reason I have focused on discipleship thus far in my ministry.

I can’t even get on Facebook anymore without either my heart hurting or getting angry. I am beyond disappointed with some of my friends and their liberal comments. I am so sick of reading those types of thoughts and posts, while me and many others keep silent about our beliefs. We keep silent because we have learned that speaking up only leads to attacks and “us” looking stupid or hateful. I am often reminded of Matthew 7:6:

“Do not give dogs what is sacred; do not throw your pearls to pigs. If you do, they may trample them under their feet, and turn and tear you to pieces.

I’ved learned my lessons. Mostly the hard way, but I have learned them. A few weeks ago I posted my thoughts and feelings on homosexuality. In my quest to write it in away that would keep non-believers reading, I failed to accurately state my beliefs and I unintentionally sold out my God. You see, after a normal post, I have peace about what I have written. There was no peace with this post. I thought about deleting it, but there are many good things in the post that I feel are worthy of reading. I won’t get into how I really feel today, just know that I recognize that I too have been guilty of staying quiet or selling out to appease others.

As I stated above, I am becoming disheartened by the lack of Christian voices on Facebook and the number of Christians who seem to be changing their beliefs based on public opinion. I just started the book Breaking Free by Beth Moore. It is not at all what I expected thus far. The book starts with a study of the Kings who reigned during the time of the prophet Isaiah.

King Uzziah could have been known as the greatest king between David and Christ if it wasn’t for his pride. He was the king who lit the incense in the holy place. This may not seem like a big deal for us, but this was to be the job of the priests only. For his disobedience, he was struck with leprosy. King Uzziah may have been a great king, but all anyone can remember now is that he was the king with leprosy. It is true; “When someone has been given much, much will be required in return; and when someone has been entrusted with much, even more will be required” .
(Luke 12:48).

“Jotham “did what was right in the eyes of the Lord” (2 Kings 15:35), but he overlooked one critical matter. The people worshiped the other gods like Baal and Asherah. These places of worship we called “high places.” Jotham allowed the high places to continue in Judah. Jotham sought God faithfully and walked steadfastly before Him, but he refused to demand respect for the one and only God.” (Breaking Free, Beth Moore, Pg. 13)

Sound familiar?

“Ahaz became king after the death of his father Jotham, but Ahaz “did not do what was right in the eyes of the Lord” (2 Chron. 28:11). He made idols, worshiped the Baals, and offered sacrifices at the high places…….Please do not miss the fact that Ahaz offered sacrifices at the high places. The high places were accessible to a young Ahaz because his father Jotham did not have them removed.” (Breaking Free, Beth Moore, pg. 14)

I am not sure if the situation we are finding ourselves in ( the lack of real Christianity in America) is the product of our own actions or the product of those who have gone before us. I guess it doesn’t really matter if we are King Jotham or King Ahaz, the important thing is we have the power to change things. You see, King Hezekiah, while not perfect, was the exact opposite of his father Ahaz. King Hezekiah actually destroyed all the high places.

You see, there are lessons to be learned here. We have to be willing to take a stand. We have to confront the issues that are before us. While it is true we are not to lay our pearls before swine, we are called to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ. Is Facebook the correct forum? I highly doubt it; however, I am so tired of seeing His scriptures misquoted and used out of context. I am taking a stand and I vow to not remain silent even if it costs me. It may cost me friends. It will hurt my pride. It may even hurt my reputation in the eyes of some. But I am a woman who learns from my mistakes, and I will not remain silent and I don’t ever want to sell out my Jesus ever again.

I do want a heart for the lost. I want to minister to those who don’t know Him as the one and only savior. I want to show His love to everyone. As we all know, there is such a thing as tough love.

1 John 3:17-18 (NIV): If anyone has material possessions and sees a brother or sister in need but has no pity on them, how can the love of God be in that person? 18 Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth.

“In actions and in truth”

Some may say that I am not compassionate because I refuse to compromise the truth of God. I disagree. We are not only supposed to have compassion, which leads to action, but we are to do so through truth. Loving someone doesn’t mean we have to accept everything they do, say, or believe. As Christians, we are called to speak truth of God. Period.

What is one lesson I will take from yesterday’s kings? I will not be afraid to stand up for the one and only God and I will demand respect for my Jesus.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

Leave a Reply

