The Sneaky Little Sin Rides Again!

“A proud man is always looking down on things and people; and, of course, as long as you’re looking down, you can’t see something that’s above you.“– C.S. Lewis

If I had to guess, I would say that we have all had pride issues at one time or another. Yes, we have all probably heard sermons on this topic time and time again as well. I am also certain there are hundreds of blog posts on this subject. So why take the time to write another one? Well, I’m glad you asked. Truthfully, I like friendly reminders. I take in a lot of information a day. Not only just in my day-to-day life, but from my Bible studies as well. It is hard to retain it all.

You may learn something new from this post, you may not, but at least I’ve put pride on your mind. You never know, you may need to use this information somehow today and you will be thankful for this little reminder.

Pride is a sneaky and tricky little sin. Even when you are aware of it and actively trying to thwart it, it can just creep in. It happened to me this very week. I don’t want to give much details because I don’t want to use this blog to air my grievances (after all, that is what Facebook is for, right?), so I apologize in advance if you are a stickler for details.

A friend, (And no it is not Connie. I know it is hard for you all to believe, but I do have more than one friend..lol.) recently made a statement that just infuriated me. I could not believe the arrogance. I kept replaying this statement over and over in my head and kept getting madder and madder. Beth Moore and Lysa TerKeurst, I apologize as you both have taught me better. It was a week moment, what else can I say? Anyway, this week everywhere I turned, someone was teaching on pride. I was thinking God wanted me to write something on pride so that this friend may read my blog and realize the error of his or her ways. Yet, something didn’t quite sit right with me about it, so I held off. (Hey, I am growing as my old self definitely would have just started shooting from the hip.) Then in the middle of the night last night, I finally got what God was trying to tell me.

God was asking me why I was so bothered by my friend’s statement. Why am I bothered? Well, I had my answers ready, “because I am worried about my friend. After all, pride cometh before the fall, right? I don’t want my friend to suffer unnecessarily.”

Proverbs 16:18-Pride goes before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall.

Oh, wait, I can’t forget: “the statement was disrespectful to someone in authority, so I have great reason to be concerned.”

Yeah, God didn’t buy it either.

While both of those statements are true, the real reason, I mean the hidden reason in my heart, is that the statement offended me. It made me feel like my friend thought he or she was better than me. Remember, I did say pride was sneaky. Here I was mad at some arrogant and prideful statement my friend made because he or she offended my own pride!

Okay, excuse me for a second while I go remove the log from my own eye!

Let’s just say that I didn’t see that one coming. I think it can be hard to recognize sin because it comes in many forms. Take a look at the following questions and see if any of these apply to you:

Do you see God superior than yourself?

How can a mortal be innocent before God? Can anyone born of a woman be pure? God is more glorious than the moon; He shines brighter than the stars. In comparison, people are maggots; we mortals are mere worms. (Job 25:4–6)

Does God’s have supreme authority over you? Does he determine your eternal future?

How foolish can you be? He is the Potter, and He is certainly greater than you, the clay! Should the created thing say of the one who made it, “He didn’t make me?” Does a jar ever say, “The potter who made me is stupid?” (Isaiah 29:16)

Do you think of yourself as superior in your spiritual walk than others around you? Or Do you think you are better than others in general? Do you think your smarter or more special than those around you?

What gives you the right to make such a judgment? What do you have that God hasn’t given you? And if everything you have is from God, why boast as though it were not a gift? (1 Corinthians 4:7)

Do you think your indispensable?

By the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you. (Romans 12:3 NIV)

Do you think that your accomplishments and position entitle you to special favor?

It’s not good to eat too much honey, and it’s not good to seek honors for yourself. (Proverbs 25:27)

http://biblicalcounselinginsights.com/attitudes-and-behaviors/pride-vs-humility/5-steps-to-overcome-pride/#.Uta2MdJDuaw

Are you easily offended?

For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Cor. 12:10)

Boy, this post is sure going long. I guess my tips for overcoming our pride, scriptures, and more great quotes will have to wait.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

Leave a Reply

