His Presence-No place I’d Rather Be

Have you ever wanted to live in a commune? Today is one of those days for me! I just want to run away from the world and surround myself with nothing but Jesus.

If you know me, you know that I have been trying for years to get my pastor to start a commune. I say this jokingly, but there is a serious note in there somewhere. I mean, don’t you just love a great Sunday morning service? A Sunday morning filled with God, encouraging and worshipful music, a good sermon, and good friends to chat and share your life with? I know I do. I actually dread Sunday evenings because I know Monday is just around the corner and it is back to real life. It is easy to live our lives right on Sundays when we are surrounded by his presence and are with like-minded Christians.

Wouldn’t it be great if you could be in God’s presence every minute of every day?

The good news is that you can take those Sunday mornings with you without hiding out in a commune, ( shhh, don’t tell my pastor cause I am still liking the whole commune idea) it just takes work. It takes reading and studying your Bible. It takes prayer. It takes a faith that will carry you through difficult times as well as the mundane, every day things we have to do in order to live. Most importantly it takes a strong relationship with God and our willingness to walk in His ways. God hates sin. He can’t be where sin is present, so if you want to be in the presence of God, you got to be willing to be obedient to his word and when you make a mistake, be quick to ask for forgiveness and repent.

Sounds like a bunch of Christian ease doesn’t it? I don’t know what to tell you; it works.

I am in a place right now where I want to be in His presence all the time. It doesn’t matter where I am or what I am doing, I want to be in the presence of the Lord. As the song goes, “there is no place I’d rather be”. Everything seems right when I am standing in His presence and I am determined not to give that up for anybody or anything. (I know, much easier said than done.)

I finally realized that I am only truly happy when I am living with Him and for Him. This was no small revelation. This was big news to me. I have spent years trying to find out the purpose of my life. I have longed to do something great for God; be someone great for God. I didn’t think I would ever be happy until I found my calling. However, over the weekend, God revealed to me the real purpose of my search. The real purpose was the relationship I built with him along the way and the growth that occurred during my journey. Yes, God’s purpose for my life is important, but His presence in my life is more important.

These little worship lyrics keeps running in my head:

I wanna live in your presence;
I wanna bow at your feet;
I wanna walk in the Spirit;
I wanna worship my King;

I wanna stand in your presence;
I wanna live on my knees;
I wanna sing of your glory
I wanna live for my king.

For my church friends, the petition for the commune is ready. Don’t be shy about signing up; I promise to make room for you all. 🙂

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

One thought on “His Presence-No place I’d Rather Be

Leave a Reply

