Rough Start to 2014

I apologize for my absence from my blog. My family and I have had a very rough start to 2014. On New Year’s day my oldest daughter was diagnosed with a bad staph infection that left open sores all over her body. I was not real confident with the staph diagnosis because it did not look like the pictures on the internet; however, since staph is a serious infection (my youngest spent a week in the hospital with one when she was four) I was taking no chances. The next evening, we took her back to the ER because the “infection” was spreading rapidly. A new doctor informed us she had chicken pox. It didn’t make much sense considering she had a mild case as a baby and had been vaccinated, but we were very relieved with the diagnosis. She is doing well now and we are now in the recovery process. She is going a little stir-crazy and will be out of school for the first week of the new semester. Please keep her in your prayers.

Unfortunately, we got the news Friday night that my mother-in-law passed away. My husband was on ::11his way to Michigan to say goodbye when we got the news. He was very close to his mom and while we knew this day was coming, it is still hard to let go. My husband is currently traveling back from Michigan ( just a 3.5 hour drive) to get some more clothes and to pick us up. We will be heading back to Michigan tomorrow for the funeral on Tuesday. We are currently in the middle of an Indiana snowstorm and cold, cold temperatures are to come. Please pray for safe travels for our entire family and for help and comfort through this difficult time.

ruth

At this point, we are not sure if Emily (my oldest) will be able to go due to her chicken pox. We are waiting on word from her Doctor to determine if she is still contagious. Please pray that she will have the chance to say her goodbyes.

While this is definitely a rough start to 2014, I am still holding on to God’s promise of Jeremiah 29:11:

“For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord. Plans to prosper and not harm you; plans to give you a hope and a future>”

All your prayers are greatly appreciated.

I am not sure how often I will be able to post over this next week, if at all, but until then, stay safe and God bless,

Missy

2 thoughts on “Rough Start to 2014

  1. Missy,
    I’m so sorry to hear of all your troubles. I will pray for your daughter’s physical healing and your husband and the rest of the family in the healing from the loss of his dear mother. You are in my prayers, dear friend. God will never leave you, nor forsake you…what a wonderful promise!!
    Debbie

Leave a Reply

