2013 Favorites: More Than Words

Happy New Years Eve! Today I would like to finish my list of favorites for 2013.

My favorite author: Lysa TerKeurst

I simply adore Lysa TerKeurst. Her writing is so honest, I can’t help but to trust her. I know some authors shy away from airing their dirty laundry because it makes them easy targets for critics, but I appreciate that Lysa is so open with us and owns up to her mistakes because it allows me to believe God can use me and my failures too.

Lysa is also spot on with her teachings and gives me new perspectives on Bible stories I have heard thousands of times.

While she may not have had a new book out this year, I did go back and read some of her older ones. I am in the middle of “What Happens When Women Walk in Faith” and it is sure to be one of my favorites for 2014. I also was encouraged by her books “Capture His Heart” and “Leading Women to the Heart of God.” That being said, my favorite Lysa TerKeurst book of all time is still “Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl.” If you have not read it yet, I encourage you to do so ASAP.

My Favorite New-to-Me Author: Joyce Meyer.

Please go to https://missybaroff.wordpress.com/2013/12/16/2013-favorites…w-to-me-author/ ‎to read more about my thoughts on Joyce.

My favorite Non-fiction book of 2013: “Not a Fan” by Kyle Idleman.

This book changed my life and it will change yours as well. It cuts right to the issue of what a follower of Jesus really looks like. Many people call themselves Christians, but are they truly Christ followers? Are you a true Christ follower? I encourage you all to read “Not a Fan” and find out.

Second runner-up goes to “Battlefield of the Mind” by Joyce Meyer. Once again I refer you to https://missybaroff.wordpress.com/2013/12/16/2013-favorites…w-to-me-author/ ‎ for more details.

My Favorite Christian Fiction Book of 2013: “Too Close to Home” by Lynette Easton

2013 brought many challenges, but none harder than the challenge of only reading Christian books. I am a book lover. I used to read anything I could get my hands on, but this last year God called me on it. He showed me just how much time I wasted reading material that took me further away from him rather than drawing me closer to him. I am not saying everyone one should do this or I will do this forever, but it was a real eye opener for me to see just how much I am influenced by books.

I struggled with finding a good Christian fiction book. I love mysteries, but no matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t find a fiction book that was genuine to both the mystery and Christ. A lot of books I read seemed to have a decent story with a touch of God here and there so they could call it Christian Fiction or it was so goody-goody there was no real story going on. I was looking for a book that had real life in it. I was looking for characters that didn’t just drop lines about God, but actually lived Christ in their lives. I was looking for a story-line that showed the bad as well as the good because in real life they are both present.

I would love to say that I found it, but the truth is I didn’t. However, “Too Close To Home” was very close. It kept me guessing and I while I did pinpoint the right killer, I was not 100% sure until the very end. I very much liked the characters and I am looking forward to reading the next one.

The second runner-up would be “The Runaway Pastor’s Wife” by Diane Moody.

I found this story to be an accurate reflection of a Christian woman, struggling through life and ministry while maintaining her faith. The author didn’t just drop lines about God, but she showed how a woman’s faith impacts all areas of her life. The story-line was good, but maybe a little far-fetched here and there. I would read it again and I will try to read another one of her books in 2014.

Once again, Happy New Year and I look forward to sharing with you all in 2014!

Until next time, stay safe and God bless!

Missy

Leave a Reply

