2013 Favorites: The “Go-To” Verse and Story

I can’t believe it is one week until Christmas Eve! It seems like just yesterday it was Halloween.

Today, I will continue on with my favorites of 2013. I will start with something easy..my “go-to” Bible verse..drum roll…….

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV): 1 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

This verse has not only given me hope this difficult year, but it has helped me keep my sanity. My husband lost his job in February, but God laid this verse hard on my heart the day before it all went down. I know God was calling me to trust him and trust him is what I have done. My husband didn’t get the job of his dreams right away, but the truth in this verse let me know it was coming. We are now beginning to see a light at the end of the tunnel and I believe 2014 will be the year that God will give my husband the desires of his heart and we will come to know the Lord in ways we never knew were possible.

Now for the “go-to” bible Story of 2013:

(Okay, I may have cheated on this one, but it was just too hard to choose between the two)

The story of Abraham and his faithfulness-What impressed me the most about this story is that when God called Abraham to go, Abraham went. He didn’t make a list of pros and cons. He didn’t wait and wait for confirmation after confirmation. He knew it was God and he went. Now, there were doubts and struggles throughout Abraham’s journey, but he always (eventually) went to God for answers. When he was rebuked for doing things his way and not God’s, he accepted the consequences and got back on the horse.

Another story that really motivated me this year was the story of the Israelites and their wilderness wondering, complaining, and disobedience. God used this story as an illustration of my own life. I used to think that the Israelites were so ungrateful, now I know I am no better. It took the Israelites 40 years to go on an eleven day journey(which we will talk more about tomorrow)! Makes you think huh? I wonder how much time and how many blessings I have missed because of my constant complaints and disobedience. God wants to bless us, but he has to be able to trust us with those blessings.

How about you? What are your favorite verses and stories of 2013? What did God use to change your life or mindset?

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

One thought on “2013 Favorites: The “Go-To” Verse and Story

Leave a Reply

