Walking in Faith (Phase One-Leaving)

Happy Wednesday to you all. It is going to be a good day! Tonight starts the prophetic conference I have been waiting all year for and I know God is going to do great things.

Yesterday, we were talking about Lysa TerKeurst’s book “What Happens When Women Walk in Faith.” I confessed that I had only read 4 chapters so far, but I wanted to share with you the story of Abraham and how Lysa’s 5 phases come into play during Abraham’s story as well as my own.

If you did not read yesterdays’ post, I encourage you to go back and read, but if you don’t have time, here are Lysa’s 5 phases of the “dream process”: Leaving, Famine, Believing, Death, Resurrection.

As I said yesterday, there is a study guide at the end of every chapter and one of those questions asked us to find Abram’s (Abraham) response to God in Genesis 12: 4-9. So, when I was for this response, I was looking for a big statement. A good verse I could quote and use to remind myself in regards to my own dream. All I kept finding where things like Abram went…Abram believed..and then it hit me; “Abram went” sounds a lot like Lysa’s phase one. “Abram believed” sounds a lot like phase three. Yep, it made sense to me. So I began looking for all the phases in the story of Abraham and they were all there.

Phase One: Leaving

Genesis 12: 1-4 (NIV): The LORD had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you.
2 “I will make you into a great nation, and I will bless you; I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing.[a] 3 I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.”[b] 4 So Abram went, as the LORD had told him.

Abram went. Sounds simple enough. God told him to go somewhere and he did. He left all he knew to go to an unknown place. He left his comfort zone. Now, this may not seem like much to some of you, but you got to remember that Abram was around 75 years old at this time. God had just promised to make him into a great nation and make his name great. This probably did not make much sense to an old guy with no children, but Abram went anyway. Notice he did not demand a long drawn out explanation or a map. Nope, he just went.

I believe that God may call us to leave physically, but he also calls us to leave mentally or spiritually. Sometimes leaving involves leaving behind your old self. We are born again creatures, given a new life, and a new name (just like Abram/Abraham). Instead of dragging around our old dead self (taken from Beth Moore), we need to bury that old self and embrace the future God has for us.

Has God given you a dream that doesn’t make sense? Does your dream seem unrealistic for someone like you? If so, let the story of Abram (Abraham) encourage you. God doesn’t always makes sense and that is where faith comes in to play. I know when God first told me what he had in store for me, I was honored, but I didn’t necessarily believe it right away. I was kind of in the stage of hoping I was hearing right. Nevertheless, I decided to act on God’s call for me life and start putting things into motion. Sometimes the first step is the hardest, but who said stepping out in faith was easy?

My dear friend, Connie Cox, wrote a song about the time she stepped out in faith to do something she felt God called her to do. It was a scary time for her because she was going against family and stepping way out of her comfort zone. However, deep down she knew God was calling her to step out in faith..and she went. Here is a few line of her amazing song, “Walking in Faith.”

“Did you really say go? Are these the paths you’ve shown, your will and not mine? Will I lose it all, did you really call me to cross this line?

I’m walking in faith, I walking in trust, into the darkness, I’m praying that you won’t forsake me in this darkness”

This song (and story) touches my heart every time we play it. Why? Well, because I know the courage it took for her to do what she did and I am encouraged by her story. It is like she threw down the gauntlet challenging us all to follow God wherever he calls.

How about you? Have you been walking in faith and trusting in the dream he laid on your heart?

Have a blessed day!

Missy

2 thoughts on “Walking in Faith (Phase One-Leaving)

Leave a Reply

