31 Days to Becoming a Better Wife: Day 10: Authoritative Submission

31 Button 2 Welcome to day 10 of our 31 day journey to becoming better wives. I would say I hope you are all enjoying our study, but I know that would be hard to say right now in the midst of our submission discussion. So, while you may not be enjoying it, I hope you are encouraged by it or at least open-minded to the possibilities and promises that come along with submission.

Yesterday, we started to define submission. It became apparent real fast that a simple definition was not going to happen. We than began to take a look at the biblical definition of submission. I stated that in order for us to get a true biblical understanding of submission we must look at submission in every faucet and not just in marriage. We first looked at how servant hood played a part in submission and how we are to not only serve our husbands, but we are called to serve everyone. That one was not well received, but nonetheless, we are trudging forth today with authoritative submission.

Authoritative Submission

1 Peter 2:13-17 (NLT): 13 For the Lord’s sake, respect all human authority—whether the king as head of state, 14 or the officials he has appointed. For the king has sent them to punish those who do wrong and to honor those who do right.

<strong>Romans 13 (NLT): Everyone must submit to governing authorities. For all authority comes from God, and those in positions of authority have been placed there by God. 2 So anyone who rebels against authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and they will be punished.3 For the authorities do not strike fear in people who are doing right, but in those who are doing wrong. Would you like to live without fear of the authorities? Do what is right, and they will honor you. 4 The authorities are God’s servants, sent for your good. But if you are doing wrong, of course you should be afraid, for they have the power to punish you. They are God’s servants, sent for the very purpose of punishing those who do what is wrong. 5 So you must submit to them, not only to avoid punishment, but also to keep a clear conscience.

Okay, it is clear to me that God wants us to fall under the authority of our governing officials. We are to follow the laws of our land and respect our leaders. This first one is an easy one for me. I don’t think I would much like jail and the possibility of jail has always been a strong motivator for me to keep out of trouble (before Christ). The second one is not at all easy for me. I don’t agree much with our current leaders. My own selfish desires want to be quick with criticism, but I know God wants differently of me. God has placed these people in power for a reason, and while I may not agree with them, I must respect their authority. This is getting harder and harder, especially in the mess we find ourselves right now. However, it gets much easier when I look at how blessed this nation really is. Compared to a lot of other places, we have it beyond good. Instead of using my voice to criticize my leaders, I should be using my voice to bring about change. Because our leaders are elected, it is imperative for us to speak our beliefs; however we must find a way to do so without speaking negatively and doing harm. We need to put our focus on getting Godly leaders elected rather than tearing down the ones already in place.

Many times in the Bible God used the unrighteous, unsaved, and such to bring about His glory. He allowed the Babylonians to rule over the Israelites for a period because of the Israelites’ disobedience; however he did this to bring about change and repentance in the Israelites. There were many kings God put in power for His purposes. The same applies to our lives today. God will use whoever he wants to bring about His purpose and we must be in the will of God in order to have the discernment needed in these types of situations.

I will flat-out say it: I am not a huge fan of Obama. However, God has placed him in power for a reason. In order for me to be in the will of God, I must fall under his authority or those he places in authority over me. I must pay my taxes that support the president and a government I don’t necessarily agree with because the word of the Lord say I should. Furthermore, just like with our marriages, the system works better when it is done biblically rather than worldly.

Keeping it simple today! However, I want you all to be thinking about how much easier it is for us to fall under the authority or leadership of government, employers, and such than to fall under the authority of the one human who loves us the most.

Until tomorrow, stay safe and God bless,

Missy

Leave a Reply

