31 Days to Becoming a Better Wife: Day 8: The “S” Word

31 Button 2

I have been avoiding this topic long enough; it is time we talk about the “S” word. I have been dreading doing so, not for my own misgivings, but because I know how much women hate hearing about submission. There, I said it (wrote it); SUBMISSION!

I am going to be very honest here, I spent too many years of my marriage fighting submission because I didn’t truly understand what it meant. I defined submission by the world’s standards and not God’s words. At the beginning of this 31 day study I challenged all of us to accept God’s words as absolute truth. The reason I did so was because there are instructions in the Bible that are not easy and most of us not only don’t want to follow them, we don’t even want to hear about them. This subject is not only one of those instructions I was worried about, it was THE subject I was most concerned would turn you away.

2 Timothy 3:16-17 (NKJ): 16 All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, 17 that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.

If we make a promise up front to believe every word in the Bible is God’s absolute truth, then when we get to the parts that are a little bit harder and not easy to swallow, there will be no room for back peddling. Therefore, as you read on the subject of submission over the next week or so (don’t worry, it won’t be every day), remember that every SCRIPTURE given is the absolute word of God and we should be applying it in our everyday life. Please note that there will be a lot of my own and others’ commentary along with the scriptures and I am not asking you to take our opinions as absolute truth, only the scriptures themselves. Furthermore, I strongly encourage you all to look up the scriptures and study the passages that contain them.

I know this is a sensitive subject for some of us, but I am asking us all to open our hearts and minds and allow God to speak to us. There are an overwhelming number on articles, papers, posts on this very subject and I know I am just adding to the information overload, but I want you all to know this is coming from my heart, and I know God is leading me here. I am not asking you all to do anything I have not done or am doing. Let’s take this opportunity to allow God to do some great work through and in us. If we start off on this topic with a closed heart and mind, nothing I say (write) will amount to anything; there will be no change in your life or marriage.

I honestly struggled with knowing where to begin because submission is such a vast subject. Even coming up with a simple definition took a lot more research than I expected. That is when I decided I wanted to ask you all how you define submission. Now, I don’t want you to use Google or any other means of looking up the definition. I want an honest answer that comes from your gut. Don’t tell me what you think I want to hear, tell me what it really means to you. I’m not looking for a right or wrong answer. I’m just trying to get a feel of where you all are in order to better direct our submission discussion. In addition, if you have any questions you want answered or an opinion you would like to share, please let me know. You can comment on this post or send me a private message at gettingreal2013@gmail.com.

Tomorrow, we will look at how we define submission and compare it to how God defines submission. Don’t hesitate to share your thoughts. This all works so much better when we all get involved.

Until tomorrow, God bless!
Missy

Leave a Reply

