31 Days to Becoming a Better Wife: Day 5: Where to Begin?

Okay, I bet you all thought I forgot, huh? I am so not used to posting on Saturday and my day kind of got away from me, but I am finally here.

I feel like a superwoman today. I got up first thing this morning, ran back into town to go baby shower and birthday shopping, cleaned house, got daughter #2 ready for a wedding, went to baby shower, came home got daughter #1 ready for her Homecoming dance, and now I’m writing this post. Wow, what a day! But guess what? I feel great; I feel accomplished; I feel like a good wife and mother. It feels good to be walking in the will and ways of God.

For yesterday’s homework I asked you all to come up with three things you could do for your husbands in the upcoming weeks. I prayed about it and God convicted me in the following areas:

1. I need to compliment my husband daily and not speak negatively to him or about him;
2. I need to do special things for him for no reason; and
3. I need to make my house a home my husband wants to come home to.

These are relatively simple things that I should already be doing, but I don’t. It is not that I don’t love my husband, it is just sometimes I love myself more than I ought. I love my husband and he needs to know that I love him and not just by my words.

As I have said many times over the last few months, I am often my husbands biggest critic and not his biggest fan. I know better; now it is time for me to do better. Like the Hawk Nelson song says:

Words can build you up, words can break you down
Start a fire in your heart, or put it out.

Let my words be life, let my words be truth
I don’t want to say a word unless it points the world back to you

On numerous occasions I have felt God calling me to do special things for my husband, but I either failed to recognize it as God’s calling or I have flat-out ignored it. Don’t get me wrong, I have plenty of excuses, after all we don’t have a lot of extra money and I am a very busy woman. I mean, it is not like he does a lot for me. Yeah, I think you get the point. There will never be enough money or time, but if we don’t make our husbands a priority, we will never have the marriages we desire. Marriage takes work. Marriage takes time. Marriage takes sacrifice. We have to do what we are called to do as wives even when our husbands don’t deserve it; even when we don’t get the same in return.

The last one is the hardest one for me. What man wants to come home to a messy house, angry wife, and out of control kids? I know I would not want to come home to that kind of mess. Yes, the men have responsibilities too, don’t get me wrong, but I am just addressing the roles of wives. This is such an interesting topic that I would like to discuss it in further detail. Check back tomorrow and we will discuss whether or not your home is a haven or a headache.

Until tomorrow, stay safe and God bless,

Missy

Leave a Reply

