31 Days to Becoming a Better Wife: Day One

31 Button 2

For those of you reading my blog for the first time or reading for the first time in a while, please note that I am not an expert on marriage nor am I a great wife. You see, I am writing as I am learning. I like to share what God speaks into my spirit, what I read in books or find on the web, or what I hear in a sermon,TV, or radio program. I did not even know I would be writing this series until today. I had been praying for the last few days about a topic to write on and had been drawing a blank. When I came across a blog post about this writing challenge this morning, I just knew I was to write on being a better wife. It was so clear and I had such a peace that could only come from being in the will of God. I am honestly excited to see what God has in store for all of us!

As many of you know, for the last few months I have been writing a study on the Proverbs 31 Woman or the faucets of a virtuous woman. The topic of my study surprised a great many of my friends and family because “submission” is not one of my strong suits. I will admit that I have been (as I am trying to change) a very bossy, controlling woman most of my life. I had not been one to ever shy from giving my opinions. Not to say that I was (am) a horrible wife, I just clearly did not accept or carry out God’s design for marriage or my biblical role as a wife. I tended to let society tell me what a wife should be and not God’s word. I believe this may just be the hardest hurdle for women to overcome in order for them to become the wives they were designed to be.

Yes, I truly believe that we women will be the happiest in our marriages, our lives, and in our walks with God when we accept our biblical roles and start acting accordingly. Now, I promise you, it is not as bad as it seems, so please stay with me. I am not advocating for some “anti-feminist” movement, I just strongly feel that we have gotten too far away from living the way we were intended to live.

God’s word is very clear on the subject:

Genesis 2:18-22 (NLT): Then the Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper who is just right for him.” 19 So the Lord God formed from the ground all the wild animals and all the birds of the sky. He brought them to the man[c] to see what he would call them, and the man chose a name for each one. 20 He gave names to all the livestock, all the birds of the sky, and all the wild animals. But still there was no helper just right for him. 21 So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep. While the man slept, the Lord God took out one of the man’s ribs[d] and closed up the opening. 22 Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib, and he brought her to the man. 23 “At last!” the man exclaimed. “This one is bone from my bone, and flesh from my flesh! She will be called ‘woman,’ because she was taken from ‘man.”24 This explains why a man leaves his father and mother and is joined to his wife, and the two are united into one.

Ephesians 5:22-24 (NLT): 22 For wives, this means submit to your husbands as to the Lord. 23 For a husband is the head of his wife as Christ is the head of the church. He is the Savior of his body, the church. 24 As the church submits to Christ, so you wives should submit to your husbands in everything.

Ephesians 5:33 (NLT): 33 So again I say, each man must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.

1 Corinthians 11:3 (NLT): But there is one thing I want you to know: The head of every man is Christ, the head of woman is man, and the head of Christ is God.

1 Corinthians 11;8-9 (NLT): 8 For the first man didn’t come from woman, but the first woman came from man. 9 And man was not made for woman, but woman was made for man.

1 Peter 3:1-2 (NLT): 3 In the same way, you wives must accept the authority of your husbands. Then, even if some refuse to obey the Good News, your godly lives will speak to them without any words. They will be won over 2 by observing your pure and reverent lives.

Titus 2:4 (NLT): 4 These older women must train the younger women to love their husbands and their children, 5 to live wisely and be pure, to work in their homes,[b] to do good, and to be submissive to their husbands. Then they will not bring shame on the word of God.

According to scripture, as wives, we are called to help, respect, submit, and love our husbands. Now, I know most of you know that and are familiar with the scriptures above, but do believe it? Do you live it?

It is day one of this 31 day study, and it is my prayer and purpose that you accept God’s words as truth. Now, I promise you we will go into further study on each and every one of those scriptures as well as give you practical applications, but it is my belief that the first step in becoming a better wife or a biblical wife is accepting God’s design for our marriage and our role as wife as God designed. For those of you already there, great; you’re done until tomorrow. For those of you who are still aren’t sure, I encourage you to look up the above mentioned scriptures in your own Bibles and pray about it some more. Once you are done praying, pray some more. Come back tomorrow at the very least with an open heart and an open mind to the possibility that God design is in fact perfect.

I will confess that I am a new convert. I am still learning to apply my new-found knowledge and acceptance, but I can already say there is much more peace when I walk in God’s will than there ever was when I walked in my own. I pray that you will stay with me as we all become better wives over the next 31 days.

Until tomorrow, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

One thought on “31 Days to Becoming a Better Wife: Day One

Leave a Reply

