And They Will Call Her Blessed!

I can hardly believe it my myself, but it looks like we are drawing very near the end of this study! Wow, what an enlightening journey it has been. Thank you for joining me.

Proverbs 31:28-29 (NKJ): Her children rise up and call her blessed; Her husband also, and he praises her: 29 “Many daughters have done well, But you excel them all.”

Her children and her husband will call her blessed. Well, to fully understand that verse, we must first understand the usage of “blessed”. Merriam Webster defines “blessed” as a sacred nature, connected with God, held in reverence, or content and happy. Furthermore, the Bible often interchanges the words happy and blessed. I think all the definitions fit and fit well. A virtuous woman’s family will call her happy. A virtuous woman is content. A virtuous woman is of a sacred nature and connected with God. A virtuous woman is held in reverence.

Through applying this study in my everyday life, I have found I am more happy and at peace. No, it is not always easy to do the things required of a virtuous woman (nor do I always succeed), but I feel so much better when I do it. Yes, there are times I am tired; there are times when my husband and children don’t deserve it, but I must always remember who I am doing it for. I do it not to please man (my husband or family) but to please God and he always deserves my best.

Happiness or being blessed comes out of serving the Lord, not for our own selfish reasons but because we love and want to honor our Lord. For way too many years I struggled to see God’s promises fulfilled in my life. I did not understand why God “did not work” for me. I now realized God “didn’t work for me” because I wasn’t doing what I was supposed to be doing to get the things he promised…

Matthew 6:33- 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.

SEEK FIRST THE KINGDOM OF GOD

Psalms 1:1-Blessed (happy) is the man that walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful.

Psalm 2:12-Blessed (happy) are they that put their trust in Him.

Psalm 112:11-Blessed is the man that fears the Lord and delights in His commandment.

John 15:7- If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you.

God makes many promises and he will follow through, but we must be also willing to walk in His ways. The ways for a virtuous woman are not easy, but they are possible as longs as you rely on God for your strength.

When a woman walks in the ways of the Lord, it is noticed. Her words, actions, and deeds make her stand out of the crowd because she behaves in a godly manner. Her family is proud of her and recognizes her value. In children, it may take until they are grown, but they will see the value in her and her teachings will stay with them. So, women take heart, if you are not seeing any praise now; hold on, it is coming.

It is interesting to note that the language changes in verse 29, making some believe that the author wrote it specifically for his wife.

Proverbs 31:30-31 (NKJ): Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing, but a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised. 31 Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her own works praise her in the gates.

It is good to remember that beauty on the outside is not all that important as it can cover an ugly heart and it doesn’t last forever. However, inner beauty that comes from a strong relationship with the Lord will last forever and be remembered. A woman who chases Godliness will be praised because God honors those who follow Him. A virtuous woman will have not need to boast of herself because her works will speak for themselves. I take note of this last part because I can get really frustrated when my husband doesn’t notice all the new things I have been doing. I am tempted to tell him. I am tempted to “throw it” in his face. However, God’s word makes it clear that my words, deeds, and action will speak to him, eventually. Furthermore, I must remember I don’t do this for my husband’s praise, but to please my Lord.

Please join me tomorrow as I conclude this long, very long, series.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless!

Missy

Leave a Reply

