Understanding Grace, Obedience, and the Law (Introduction)

Okay, some people have asked me about posting the message I gave at a church earlier this month. Unfortunately, I did not think to record it, so I just decided I would post a written version. Now, this written message is a little different from the one I gave verbally as I am not under a time constraint here and the Holy Spirit changed a few things during the message. In addition, I went to the Beth Moore Simulcast over the weekend and some things she said has prompted me to clarify some points. Those clarifications will be in bold print.

The title of my message was “Stop Resting on Your Grace and Start Walking in Obedience.” Any one of you who was fortunate enough to hear Beth Moore this weekend will probably have their guard go up in reference to my title, but please bear with me for a moment.

Beth Moore is one of my favorite Christian speakers and writers. I love her to pieces. So, this weekend when I realized what she was going to be speaking about, my heart sank. [For those of you who don’t know, Beth Moore held a simulcast over the weekend where and the title of her message was No Longer, which was about no longer living under the Law but living under Grace.] You see, I was confident of what God spoke into my heart. I truly believed my message was correct and I was speaking truth. I still do. I am not trying to take anything away from Beth or saying I am more knowledgeable than this clearly educated and anointed person of God. I believe we are saying a lot of the same things, just differently. Once again, bear with me.

Grace is without a doubt one of the most important concepts of the Bible. You will get no arguments from me on that one. However, I tend to get a little frustrated when I hear sermon after sermon on grace. Why? Well, because it seems that we are just so quick to tickle everyone ears to keep them happy. We don’t want to tell them anything that will make them uncomfortable for fear they won’t come back. Oh, how we love a happy, easy-going sermons on grace, right? You ever ask yourself why? I know for myself I used to love those types of sermons because they were easy to digest and didn’t really require much on my end. I could walk away feeling really good about myself . The problem with that was I spent too many years as an ineffective Christian. I was not equipped to deal with everyday life. When storms or struggles came along, I did not know how to whether the storm without getting angry with the Lord. I had no knowledge of scriptures because I was living under grace and did not have to read my bible as I did when I lived under the law. I did not have to do anything. God loved me as I was.

Yep, we are in for one bumpy ride, but hang on, I promise it will all come together.

As you may be able to tell, the discussion of grace, obedience, works, and such is a hot topic for me. I don’t understand why there is such a chasm between grace and obedience. It is like we have become two teams. Team Obedience and Team Grace. You will notice that I didn’t use Team Law, because it is my belief that obedience and the Law are not exactly the same thing, which we will get to here in a bit. Team Obedience Christians are often thought of as overtly religious, holly rollers, Pharisees. On the other extreme, Team Grace Christians can be seen as too modern, sell outs, lazy and uncommitted. As we all know, the truth is often in between. It is my belief than grace and obedience work together; furthermore, grace is the catalyst to obedience. I know that may not sit well with some, and once again I am asking for you all to bare with me for a time. I promise to back up my mouth as we continue on tomorrow.

It is not at all as harsh as it seems here. The point of my original message (and this one too) was not to point on which “team” is right, but to show how grace and obedience help us become the men and women we were created to be.

Until tomorrow, stay safe and God bless,

Missy

Leave a Reply

