Less Me Time and more God and Family Time

Proverbs 31:27 (NLT): She carefully watches everything in her household and suffers nothing from laziness.

Okay, I think we covered this one thoroughly in Proverbs 31:13-19. Please go back and read the older post covering those verses to refresh your memory if need be.

I think this verse is just an emphasis of what we already learned: A virtuous woman’s first priority after God is her family. While we do need some “me time”, we must make sure that “me” time is not detrimental to our “God time” or “family time”. A virtuous woman does not spend every evening watching TV or just “vegging” out. No a virtuous woman must first make sure she spends time growing in the Lord, the needs of her family are met, the household needs are met, and our husband’s needs are met. I know there are a lot of needs that need to be met, but if the Lord is calling us to it, he will help us to do it.

Over the course of this study, I have really been trying to implement these scriptures into my life. Some are coming more easily than others. The last week or two I have been really working hard on getting my household organized. I made up a list of things I need to do daily, before and after work, along with a list of things that need done ever so often. I have included a copy of the list I found on Facebook. Now, my list is slightly different because I changed it to suit the needs of my family and I encourage you all to do the same. It really has been working well. I had been using Saturday mornings as my cleaning day, but it just wasn’t getting the job done because of crazy schedules and such messy stuff as life. I just feel much more productive doing it this way every day.

cleaning

I would also like to point out that the more I spend time doing for my family, the more fulfilled I feel. I don’t seem to be craving as much “me time” as I used to. I believe it is because God is working in me and my desires or wants are changing. I never would have believed it if I didn’t experience it myself, so I encourage you all to make some changes if you find yourself being a little lazy or selfish with “me time”. I think the changes inside you will surprise you. Please understand that this is something God is doing in me. It is nothing I am doing in and of myself. This is just evidence to me that when I do it God’s way, my life is better for it.

Please don’t get me wrong. All women need to take time for themselves, but with everything in life, it must be done in moderation. This had been a personal struggle of mine. I struggled with indulging myself in too much TV time, reading time, or just plain “me” time and it was hurting my family and interfering in my walk with the Lord. If you feel the amount of “me time” is justified or well balanced, then I am betting this is not an issue for you, so keep on keeping on. I always knew it was an issue, I just didn’t want to make the necessary changes. I am not trying to be a hard, nose to the ground kind of person. Honestly, I am not. I just know how better I feel when I am doing what my God calls me to do and I want to encourage you all with it, not beat you over the head or condemn you.

I’m currently working on a “biggie” post for later this week (hopefully tomorrow), so please keep me in your prayers.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

Leave a Reply

