She is Clothed in Strength and Honor

Proverbs 31:25 (NLT): She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future.

Proverbs 31:25 (NIV): She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.

Proverbs 31:25 (NKJ): Strength and honor are her clothing; she shall rejoice in time to come.

Proverbs 31:25(KJV): Strength and honour are her clothing; and she shall rejoice in time to come.

Strength and Honor are her clothing/She is clothes with strength and dignity

I’m going to do something I don’t usually do; I’m going to keep this simple. The clothing discussed here is not of the physical, but rather the spiritual. I don’t believe that it is a far leap to say that the clothing mentioned here symbolizes protection. Therefore, we could say that a virtuous woman is protected by her strength and honor.

As discussed in 31:17 and various other versus, a virtuous woman is strong. She works from sun up to sun down. She is a wife, mother, business woman, laborer, merchant, etc. The only way she has the physical or mental strength to do all the things she needs to do is leaning on the power of Christ. She is protected by her strength because her strength comes from the Lord and no opposition can stand against him.

A virtuous woman’s honor and dignity are just as important when it comes to her protection.

Listed below are just a few of the many definitions of honor found in Merriam Webster’s Dictionary:
A good name or public esteem; good reputation; respected; a person of superior standing-title used for a holder of high office; a keen sense of ethical conduct-integrity; a privilege; chastity or purity.

The bible uses honor to describe God and Jesus quite often. It is often accompanied with words such as glory and majesty. To keep it simple as I can, due to translation issues, it is common for honor to be interchangeable for words such as majesty, splendor, and glory.

Listed below are some definitions of dignity as found in the Merriam Webster Dictionary:
The quality or state of being worthy; high rank, office, or position; formal reserve or serious manner or appearance; archaic.

No matter which word or definition you use, it is apparent to me that a virtuous woman is a Godly woman, with a good reputation whose actions speak for her. Her husband is respected in the community because she acts respectfully. Her honor or dignity protects her from gossip and lies because her reputation precedes her. Furthermore, one who is making Godly decisions or acting with integrity will benefit from those choices because they will not be dealing with the consequences that come with ungodly choices.

She laughs without fear of the future/She shall rejoice in times to come

A virtuous woman can laugh without fear of the future because she has faith in what is to come. She has faith in God’s promises. She knows that troubles will come, but she also knows that God will work them out for her good.

A virtuous woman will rejoice in times to come no matter what her circumstances will be because she knows she will live with her maker in God’s heavenly kingdom where she will be rejoicing for eternity.

What does this mean for me?

Well, what I took away from all of this is that my every word, action, or deed can be used to further God’s kingdom or aid Satan in his attempts to destroy it. I can’t control what other think about me, but I can do my best to live according to scripture, so that my “haters” have the least amount of ammunition to use against me and Satan has a lot less to work with. Let me repeat that; I can’t control what others think about me. I can, however, control my own thoughts and actions.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,

Missy

3 thoughts on “She is Clothed in Strength and Honor

  1. Someone made this comment on my facebook page and I loved it so much I wanted to share it all with you.

    “Missy, I think, also, that clothed indicates something that she has to put on. When we get out of bed in the morning, we have decisions to make. We decide what we are going to put on. Our clothes don’t just fall on us, we have to put them on. Likewise, I think the virtuous woman has to decide to put on the strength and honor that God gives her. Thanks again for posting. I always enjoy reading what God gives you!”

    Thanks Beverly and God Bless 🙂

    31 minutes ago · Like

  2. Missy, this is an incredible piece of writing! I am moving it to a special “favorites” folder on my e-mail so that I can read it often.

    You have a great gift for writing and for furthering God’s Kingdom through your writing. May God bless you for it!

    Hugs,

    Gwennon

    P.S. I loved the comment your Facebook friend shared about putting on these characteristics through the decisions we make. Very, very good!

Leave a Reply

