Working Hard or Hardly Working?

Proverbs 31:16 (NLT): She goes to inspect a field and buys it; with her earnings she plants a vineyard.
Proverbs 31:16 (NIV):She considers a field and buys it; out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
Proverbs 31:16 (NKJ): She considers a field and buys it; from her profits she plants a vineyard.

A virtuous woman goes to a field, carefully looks over the field to make sure it is a beneficial purchase for her family, and finding it so, buys it. From this verse, it is clear to me that women play an important part in the family finances. Now, I do not believe a virtuous woman would go out and buy a field without her husband’s consent or knowledge as we previously learned that a virtuous woman’s husband can trust her, but she is involved in decision making and financial transactions.

It is important to point out that this virtuous woman had a purpose for the field she purchased. It was not to be used as some sort of status symbol, but it was to be a vineyard that would provide fruit for her family and others as well as some income. Once again, God brings us right back to being good stewards. The virtuous women worked hard to earn money to buy the land and plant the vineyard, but the work did not stop there. It took time and money to get the vineyard growing and keep it growing. The virtuous woman paid a cost with her time as well as her money. I think we have all at one time or another jumped into something before we counted the cost of it. Before I start a new venture, I must ask myself if I am willing to put in the time, effort, and money it would take to make it successful. If not, it would not be a wise investment for me or my household. That brings me to my next point, what cost is this new venture going to be to my family? Sometimes a better job or side job is great for the family budget, but terrible for family dynamics. What this all boils down to is that a virtuous woman is wise with her resources and looks for opportunities to bring in extra money without causing hardship on her family.

Proverbs 31:17 (NLT): She is energetic and strong, a hard worker.
Proverbs 31:17 (NIV): She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.
Proverbs 31:17 (NKJ): She girds herself with strength, and strengthens her arms.

While these versions may all be worded differently, they mean basically the same thing: a virtuous woman is a strong hard worker. According to Merriam Webster, “to gird” means to encircle or bind with a flexible band or belt. In biblical times, this word was often used to refer to binding up a man or woman’s robe so as not to trip him or her up or cause him or her to fall. In other word’s a person must be ready for action. Okay, ladies, you may not like what is coming next ( you have been warned). A virtuous woman must be strong and fit if she is going to be able to accomplish all that is required of her. It does not say that a virtuous woman works out at the gym 6 days a week. No, it says that her arms are strong or she is strong. I believe she is strong because of all the hard work she is doing; however, the the point here, I believe, is that a virtuous is active. A virtuous woman is not idle. She keeps her mind on spiritual matters by doing works for her family and her God. She does not spend hours watching Days of our Lives or Real Housewives of Jerusalem. No, she works from sun up to sun down (talk more about this next week) and keeps herself productive. I am guilty of wasting many hours and many days on reading books and watching TV. These things in and of themselves are not necessarily bad; however, if you are taking time away from your family or these activities are causing you not to get things done that need done, then they are bad for you personally.

I believe the main point of the verse 17 is that a virtuous woman is a hard worker and her work makes her strong.

Lord, I come to you today and ask for hearts and ears to be open. What we are learning does not come easy. Choices must be made and it often seems like the sacrifices you are asking of us are too great. Lord, help me become the woman I am called to be. Help me OVERCOME! Help me overcome my selfish nature, my disobedience, and anything else that gets in the way of your will for my life. In Jesus’ name I pray, AMEN!

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

One thought on “Working Hard or Hardly Working?

  1. Dear Missy,

    Thank you so very much for this timely message. I have needed it so much. Whereas I dream of being the Proverbs 31 woman, I am easily distracted, and a lot of my good works are only just ideas that I have not yet put into practice.

    I will be moving this post into a special folder on my e-mail called “I Need To Read This Now” and I want to read it often.

    You are a good writer, and your message is very good. I especially appreciated what you said about a part-time job being good for the family, but maybe not so good for family dynamics. It’s a tricky balancing act.

    I look forward to reading more of your writings.

    Keep up the excellent work!

    Hugs,

    Gwennon

Leave a Reply

