Are We There Yet?

Today, I just wanted to take the time to reflect on what we have learned thus far in the study of the Proverbs 31 woman. I realize this study is going a lot slower than anticipated, but I had no idea how much God had in store for us when I first started writing.

I hesitated writing on this subject because it is an area in which I’m not real successful. I wrestled with God over this issue, but I felt convicted by God to go forth. The biggest problem I am having is I am so busy writing and researching that I have been slow on the application side of things. I know most of you don’t know me personally, but if you did , you would know I like a lot of organization in my life; therefore, I started a list of what we have learned thus far and some things I need to be actively doing while we continue on our journey.

Proverbs 31:10-15 in my own words:

Who can find a virtuous woman? A virtuous woman is rare to find. Her husband can trust her and she will be a helpmate to him and greatly enrich his life. She brings him good, not harm, each and every day despite the circumstances surrounding her. She helps with the financial burdens of the household by providing clothing and food for her family with her gifts and talents. She rises early in the morning as not to waste the day and to provide food for her family and any help she may have.

Practical Applications:

1. Accept my role as helpmate and not a leader;
2. Work on control/bossy/submission issues;
3. Be careful with my words and be my husband’s biggest fan not his biggest critic;
4. Do nice things for my husband and say nice things about my husband;
5. Support his dreams and help him act on them;
6. Be wise with our money and resources-shop more thrifty and lower expectations;
7. Do more of the “wifely duties, such as cooking ,cleaning, etc, without complaining;
8. Teach my daughters how to be Godly wives in all areas, -cook, clean, run a household, submit, etc.
9. Accept that my job lessons the financial burdens of the household, so I don’t have to be a stay at home mom or housewife to be a Proverbs 31 woman;
10 Get my priorities in line: (1) God (2) Husband (3) Children (4) Church….;
11. Cut out some activities to make more time for family; and
12. Get up one hour earlier each day to prepare for the day.

As I mentioned above, this is just a list I have come up with so that I am actively pursuing my goal and not just taking in information. I encourage you all to make your own list.

Becoming a Proverbs 31 Woman is not an easy task. Some days will be easier than others. I am struggling more than I even thought I would because my selfish desires and pride keep getting in the way. When my husband is grumpy or not doing the things I want him to do, it is easy to give up; however, I must choose obedience despite the circumstances that surround me. In Lysa TerKeurst’s book “Capture His Heart,” she talks about a similar subject and guides us to the following verse:

Matthew 25:40: And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters,[a] you were doing it to me!

Lysa goes on to show us that when we are mad and angry at our husbands [or they are being rude and grumpy], they too become a “least of these”. Therefore, when we stay our course and love our husbands when they are unlovable, we touch the heart of God. (Capture His Heart-Kindle Edition-pg. 292-293) You see, when we choose to act as virtuous women even when circumstances shout otherwise, we are doing so for God and not our husbands. It becomes about the love for Jesus and serving Jesus and not the love of our husbands. This is not to say that we shouldn’t do things to show love for our husbands, but there are times when the only way we can bring ourselves to do something is in His power and for Him alone. When our husbands are acting unlovable it is hard to be the women God has called us to be; however, if we make it about God’s love and simple obedience, it becomes much easier to act as virtuous women.

This week I hope to continue on with this study and do a few writings on other topics as well. I am currently researching and studying up on the Prodigal Son. I am more interested in the “other” son’s point of view and taking a closer look at signs we may becoming more like the pharisees than like Christ. This topic is looking very promising so far, but I’ll have to see where God leads it.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

Leave a Reply

