A Case of the Grumps or a Selfish Focus?

Last Friday I mentioned that I had the grumps and that I was going to give some praises to God and see if that cleared things up for me and let you know how it all turned out. Well, I plugged my headphones into my computer and started to listen to KLOVE as I worked. I was singing along in my head and began to feel my spirit lighten; however, I couldn’t quite shake my negative attitude. I then cried out to God and asked him to reveal the true issue to me. It was through this frank discussion with God that I began to realize I was overwhelmed, beaten down, and just simply tired. Wait, didn’t you just thank God on Thursday for peace during your busy season? Why, “Yes,” I did. Did my circumstances changes that greatly from Thursday to Friday? “No,” my circumstances didn’t change, my perspective changed and that was the issue. On Thursday, I had my eyes focused on God and I felt encouraged and strengthened to get through the upcoming days. On Friday, I had my thoughts and focus on me. I didn’t want to do the things I had to do that weekend because I was tired and I just wanted some me time. Make no mistake, it was not the devil that robbed me of my peace, I robbed myself of peace when I chose to focus on what was wrong with my upcoming weekend rather than what God could do through me and for me that weekend. But rest assured, God used this little life lesson to lead us to our next discussion on the Proverbs 31 Woman. [Don’t you just love when God connects everything for us?]

Proverbs 13-24:

13 She selects wool and flax
and works with eager hands.
14 She is like the merchant ships,
bringing her food from afar.
15 She gets up while it is still night;
she provides food for her family
and portions for her female servants.
16 She considers a field and buys it;
out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
17 She sets about her work vigorously;
her arms are strong for her tasks.
18 She sees that her trading is profitable,
and her lamp does not go out at night.
19 In her hand she holds the distaff
and grasps the spindle with her fingers.
20 She opens her arms to the poor
and extends her hands to the needy.
21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
22 She makes coverings for her bed;
she is clothed in fine linen and purple.
23 Her husband is respected at the city gate,
where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.
24 She makes linen garments and sells them,
and supplies the merchants with sashes.

Ladies, if anyone has the right to be tired it is the virtuous women; however, I don’t hear her complaining, do you? I mean, I am tired just reading about all that work. In the past, verses 13-24 made me give up on being a virtuous woman. Why? Well, because I knew I could never live up to these expectations. To be completely honest, I didn’t want to do all those things nor did I believe they were realistic. Why? I did not believe they were realistic because the requirements seemed outdated and just plain too hard. I mean, how many women actually make clothes for their families today let alone do it out of raw material they probably produced themselves?

Despite my initial misgivings over these verses, I feel God calling me to look at the above mentioned scriptures, specifically, with new eyes and see the meaning behind the scriptures and how to apply them to the women of today. [I am not saying Christians should conform to the world or society, but our culture has changed and I want you all to see that the Bible and scriptures still apply to this ever changing world] So over the next week, we will be examining Proverbs 31:13-24 closely.

Stay tuned for tomorrow as we will examine Proverbs 31:13-18.

Have a blessed day,

Missy

Leave a Reply

