She Brings Him Good, Not Harm, All the Days of Her Life

I pray you all are having a great week. I know my week has been pretty full already and it is only Tuesday!

I will be adding to my little series on the Proverbs 31 Woman and taking a closer look at Proverbs 31:12

“ She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.” (NLT) (NIV)

“She does him good and not evil all the days of her life. (NKJ)”

“She will do him good and not evil all the days of her life.” (KJV)

Last week we discussed that one qualification of a virtuous woman is that her husband can trust her and have confidence in her. Well, one of the reasons a husband can trust a virtuous wife is that he knows his wife is looking out for him and has his best interest in her heart. This seems so simple, yet so many of us fail right here. As a wife, I am to bring good to my husband and not harm. My actions and WORDS must support my husband. I am to build my husband up and not tear him down. This is an epic fail for me as I often tear my husband down with my critical spirit and harsh words. The reality is I have become my husband’s biggest critic instead of my husband’s biggest fan. I have begun to think it is my job to give my husband a “reality check” instead of words of encouragement. To even more honest, I am the most critical when he doesn’t do the things I want him to do or doesn’t do them the way I want him to do it. Why? Well, because some where along the way I got confused with my role and I am battling him for the leading role in our marriage and family.

Ladies, I know most of you don’t want to hear it, but we are called to be the helpmates, not the leaders!

Genesis 2:18 “ Then the LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper who is just right for him.”

If you didn’t like that one, you are really going to love this one:

1 Cor 11:8 “For man does not originate from woman, but woman from man; 9 for indeed man was not created for the woman’s sake, but woman for the man’s sake.”

Society has led us to believe that our husbands should be living to please us, when the scriptures clearly tell us otherwise. Ladies, the truth is we were designed to be our husband’s helper. We may not like it, but we must live it if we are to be obedient to Christ. Society has also led us to believe that if we submit to our husbands we then somehow become second class citizens or door mats. This is simply not true.

Gal 3:28 “There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor free, male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”

John 13:16 “I tell you the truth, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him.”

Ladies, we must stop listening to what society tells us and start listening to what God tells us. Society has invaded our church and it is time we kicked it out. Churches today are hesitant teach God true design for marriage because they are too afraid to hurt people’s feelings. It is time we reclaimed our church and reclaimed our marriages. [Yes, I am getting off my soap box now]

Lastly, I would like to hit on the “all the days of her life” portion of verse 12. A virtuous wife will live to bring her husband good every day, not just when circumstances warrant it, but every day. It is not just something she does; it is who she is.

So, today, and every day forth, it is my goal to be a helper to my husband and speak words of encouragement to him and over him. How am I going to do this? I am not sure. I am going to pray more on this topic and hopefully have some practical applications for tomorrow. For today I will live by that ol saying “if you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say nothing at all!”

I would also like you all to take a moment today and reflect on your own marriages. Is your marriage designed as God instructed? Are there some changes that could be made? Is God calling you to be more of a helpmate and less of a leader? I will be praying for marriages in general, but if you have a specific prayer, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

3 thoughts on “She Brings Him Good, Not Harm, All the Days of Her Life

  1. Hi Missy,

    Good to know about you! I feel worth reading your blog. Yes, I really do need a prayer at this time for marriage. As finding a match for myself is been very tough since years. I do not know where my heart is! I’m talking to all boys in general when it comes to marriage proposals. But i’m failing to find who belongs to my life. Could you please pray for me? I need your email address to write out in detail.

    Thanks for reading my message.

    Love & Regards,
    Divya

Leave a Reply

