From the Inside Out

I originally intended the last Friday of every month to be “Focus Friday,” in which I would share with you the lyrics to one of the band’s original songs. However, I have decided to wait and post the lyrics when I am able to accompany it with either audio or video. I hope to be able to do so in the near future. In the meantime, I would still like to focus on words behind music because worship is an instrumental part of who we are and who we are called to be. Instead of using Focus originals, I will use songs that you would find on contemporary radio.

I was asked the other day, “What is your favorite worship song?” I quickly came up with a list, but was then reminded that I was asked to pick a favorite not favorites. Wow, how was I supposed to choose just one? After some soul searching and praying I was able to narrow down my list and come up with the one. Now, my favorite may change from time to time as it is likely dependent on the seasons of my life, but right now my favorite worship song of all time is “From the Inside Out” by Hillsong.

A thousand times I’ve failed
Still Your mercy remains
And should I stumble again
I’m caught in Your grace

Everlasting, Your light will shine when all else fades
Never ending Your glory goes beyond all fame

Your will above all else
My purpose remains
The art of losing myself
In bringing You praise

Everlasting
Your light will shine when all else fades
Never ending Your glory goes beyond all fame

In my heart and my soul
Lord I give You control
Consume me from the inside out,
Lord, let justice and praise
Become my embrace
To love You from the inside out.

I wholeheartedly believe that God speaks to us through music. He has proven this to me time and time again. I also realize that people can hear the same song, with the same lyrics, but interpret it differently. The following is my own interpretation of the song, so please do not attribute any of the following commentary as anything to do with Hillsong as my interpretation is probably not at all what Hillsong intended.

“A thousand times I’ve failed, still your mercy remains, and should I stumble again, I’m caught in your grace.” How awesome are those lyrics? I don’t know about you, but I fail a lot. Even when I am trying, I still fail. I am grateful to know that even though I fail, my God still loves me and his love is not dependent on my actions. If I try and I fail, I can dust myself off and get back up and stand in his awesome grace. WooHoo!

“Everlasting, Your light will shine when all else fades; never ending, Your glory goes beyond all fame.” When everyone around us fails us, and they will, God is there and he will never fail us. His love will outshine them all and it never changes. Once again, I am reminded that God’s love will not fade, it will not change; thereby, his love is not dependent on my actions. I am also reminded that God’s glory is what it is all about. Everything I do for my church, every time I speak, every Sunday morning worship service, EVERYTHING, is all for the glory of God. I do not do it for praise; I do not do it for power; I do not do it for fame; I do it to bring glory and honor to him.

“Your will above all else, my purpose remains, the art of losing myself in bringing You praise.” That is how we should all operate. We should all be seeking his will for our lives over what we want for our lives. After all, father knows best, right? We must loose our life to gain a new one. Galatians 2:20 “My old self has been crucified with Christ.[e] It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me.” Once we are saved, our lives are no longer our own; we are living for Christ and as Christ. We must continually seek to have more of Him and less of ourselves.

On a side note, my children often tease me about how I worship. When I worship, whether it is on stage or from a pew, I smile big, make faces, use hand gestures, and just let go. It embarrasses my kids greatly, but I can’t help it. It is what I feel. It is what is inside me. I long for the times of worship when I can just loose myself in him. Can I get an AMEN?

“In my heart and my soul, Lord I give You control, consume me from the inside out. Lord, let justice and praise, become my embrace, to love You from the inside out.” These are my favorite lines in the whole song because this has been my prayer numerous times. This is my heart’s desire. I want to be consumed with Lord. I want every word I speak and every thought I have to be of the Lord. I want to be so on fire for the Lord that the devil will fear me. I know in order to be this person, God must have full control, which is not easy for a control freak like me. I am not where I am supposed to be on this, but I am a lot closer than I was yesterday. I think that Hillsong got it right and in order to give God complete control, we must love him from the inside out. It begins in our hearts. Matthew 34-35 “You brood of snakes! How could evil men like you speak what is good and right? For whatever is in your heart determines what you say. A good person produces good things from the treasury of a good heart, and an evil person produces evil things from the treasury of an evil heart.” If we hold God and Godly things in our heart, it will pour out of our mouths; it will pour out in our lives.

Also, in some versions there is a lead in to the chorus that says ” My soul cries out!” When I hear this it often brings tears to my eyes. There is so much passion in those few words. My soul does indeed cry out for Jesus Christ! I want more of him. I want to be more for him. How about you? Is your soul crying out for more of Jesus Christ? If not, it is time for a gut check and a re-examination of your life. I am serious. Remember what Jesus said about luke-warm Christians: Revelation 3:15 “I know all the things you do, that you are neither hot nor cold. I wish that you were one or the other! But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth!”

I know I didn’t go too deep today, but it is Friday after all. I hope it made you think and I hope you were able to come up with your favorite worship song. If you have some time, why don’t you let us know what your all time favorite worship song is and why.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

4 thoughts on “From the Inside Out

  1. Great post! And I like your idea, it is good to know and meditate on the songs we sing, for worship is more than songs its the way we live our lives too. Well my favorite song of all time is (actually they are 2 – ‘In Christ alone’ & ‘When I survey the wondrous cross’ and its hard for me to separate them, but since the I heard In Christ alone first, i will give it to that.) They are very deep and remind me of how great God’s love for us is and gives me hope that because He overcame, we too will overcome 🙂

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement. I also love the song In Christ Alone and I think I am going to go listen to it now. 🙂

  2. I was smiling the entire time i was reading this. Really awesome! Thanks God for making me find this article. And I was listening to the song the entire time, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

