“Yada Yada Prayer Group” Yeah or Neah

Yada_Yada_Prayer_OA_large

***

I finally did it; I finally read my first Christian fiction book and it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. I chose to read the “Yada Yada Prayer Group” by Neta Jackson mostly because it was a book a friend had given me a few years before but I had yet to read it. So, this pick really was just a matter of convenience.

“The Yada Yada Prayer Group” is a story about a group of diverse women who are assigned to a prayer group at a women’s conference in Chicago and decide to keep the prayer group going as they return to their daily lives. We get to know these women in their home environment and journey with them as they walk with the Lord and strive for a deeper relationship with Jesus.

Let me start of by saying that Ms. Jackson is a very talented writer with a gift for character development. While there are a lot of characters introduced in this book, I feel like I know each one personally. I also feel as if I am part of their circle of friends. As an avid reader, I can tell you that this is no small task. She also includes a variety of characters across the social, financial, and racial lines so that each one of us will be able to relate to at least one of the characters in some way. Yes, some of the characters are very stereotypical, but they are true to life form. We have the typical good girl, always striving for perfection; the ex-convict who takes nothing at face value; the recovering drug addict struggling to regain a life; a powerful prayer warrior who is the epitome of perfection with hidden hurts, and on and on it goes.

In addition to the likable characters, I was motivated to continue reading because I could see reflections of my own walk with the Lord in the story line. I am currently working on a deeper relationship with Christ myself and it was interesting to see all the stuff I am learning about in story form. It made it more real for me. As an added bonus, there are scripture references and life applications which allow us to learn something and not just read for fun.

I was disappointed in the story line a bit. There didn’t seem to be much action and I am thinking that Ms. Jackson just wanted us to get to know the characters here in the first book and the story line will pick up in the next book. ***SPOILER ALERT*** I thought the accident story line was rushed and thrown in at the last-minute. I think something of this magnitude should have taken up more of the book. ***Spoiler Over*** Also, while I like the characters Ms. Jackson developed, I couldn’t help but feel that she kept it too much at the surface. It reminded me of the typical “stained glass masquerade” we find in most churches where people only show us what they want us to see, not what is really there. It was a little too goody-goody for me.

Overall, I give this book 3 stars. It is a good book with good characters. It is not, however, a page turner. I did not find myself drawn to read it nor were there times I couldn’t put it down. This is more likely from me not being a fan of this type of literature rather than the author or book itself. If you are a lover of “chic lit”, it would probably be a 4 star book for you. So, if you see this book at the library or a rummage sale, I recommend that you pick it up and give it a try. I will continue to read the series and see if the story line gets more exciting.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

Leave a Reply

