Testify

I did not plan to blog today; however, God led me to the following scripture and I felt called to share. I know it is Friday, so I’ll keep it short and simple.

1 John 4:14 “And we have seen and testify that the Father sent his Son to be the Savior of the world.” (NLT)

How easy it is for us to just skim over this verse. After all, most Christians know this one by heart. Jesus came to be the Savior of the world, yah, I got that already. However, what God laid on my heart today was the “we have seen and testify” and of the “world” parts. Jesus came to save the world. He did not come to save just myself, my family, or my friends. He came to save the world. It is our job to testify to the world. Once again, we are not called to testify to just our family and our friends. Yes, our world starts in our home, but it should expand to our church, our neighborhood, our job place, social media, etc. We don’t have to reach the world all at once, but we must commit to speaking the word of Jesus Christ to other people outside our social circle.

I don’t know about you, but I know I have been called to TESTIFY for Jesus Christ. Do I do it? I am ashamed to admit, I testify for Jesus Christ to a stranger or a casual acquaintance on a rare occasion. Satan uses the fear of rejection to stop me dead in my tracks. The media has made it difficult to talk “Jesus” for fear of being called intolerant; therefore, I won’t talk “Jesus” unless I know it is safe (unless I know the person well and then I will talk Jesus and argue my point if necessary). It is our nature to be liked; however, we must decide who we want to please. Is it God or is it man?

God has laid a ministry on my heart and I have been dabbling here and there, but today I am vowing to take action, to take the next step. Is God calling you to do something? Is it a specific ministry? Is it to talk to a neighbor? Are you being called to welcome in a complete stranger? Whatever it is, I encourage you to do it today! We are not promised tomorrow and neither is anyone else. Hell is real. We must get real as well.

Lord, thank you for this reminder. I know I don’t speak your word to others as often as I should and I ask for your forgiveness. Help me to bold for you, Lord. Teach me to speak your word in love and not in condemnation. Please give me courage to go forth in the ministry you have called me to and help me be the Godly women you made me to be. In Jesus’ name I pray, AMEN!

When I first started this blog, I mentioned that I was an avid reader and would be talking about a lot of books and doing book reviews. I have sort of strayed from my original intention, but I hope to get back to it next week. Come back next week for my reviews on 1) Not A Fan 2) The Wonderful Spirit Filled Life and 3) Yada Yada Prayer Group.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

One thought on “Testify

  1. My friend, Angel, reminded me that not only must we testify with words, but with our actions, our love, and our service as well . Thank you Angel. God Bless 🙂

Leave a Reply

