This week we have been talking about how God has a plan for our lives and sometimes that plan involves some hard times and how God wants us to draw close to him through those hard times. We also hit on yesterday, the importance of prayer and how God answers our prayers.

I also said that I would share what happened when I prayed a prayer to prosper my family. The prayer went something like this:

Lord, I thank you for all the blessings in my life and I am grateful for all I have been given. I come to you today asking that you prosper my family. You know this is something I have never really asked for because I don’t want to seem ungrateful, but your word says that I can come to you with my needs and says that I have not because I have asked not. So, Lord, I am asking you to bless my family financially so not only are our needs and some wants met, but so that we will have an abundance to use for ministry. I am asking for you to bless my husband. You know how hard he works and the sacrifices he makes. Please give him the desires of his heart, Lord, to help him to realize that all he does is not in vain. I trust that you have a plan to prosper us Lord and I am asking you to lead us there. In Jesus’ name I pray, AMEN!

You ever heard that saying “be careful for what your ask for?” Well…..by the end of the day that I prayed the prayer above my husband called to say that he had been let go of his management position after 12 years! My first thought was “not exactly what I had in mind God!”

Before my recent rededication to Christ, this would have sent me over the edge. I would have seen it as a slap in the face. I would have been angry at God and I would have walked away (at least for a while). However, I knew God was acting on my prayer. Loosing his job may not have been the method I would have picked given a choice, but I knew God was working behind the scenes. My husband would have never prospered where he was employed. The job was stressful, time-consuming, and soul grating. My husband stayed there because he wanted to provide for his family. God had a different plan. He has a better plan for my family. I would love to tell you that my husband got a better job right away, but the truth is we are still waiting. We are still trusting that God will guide us to the job that will prosper my family. I have faith that not only with the job be better financially, but it will also be better for my husband on a personal and spiritual level.

I was inspired to write “When You Go Through the Water” because of a Facebook friend’s personal struggle. I felt God calling me to send her a private message. I sent the message and then felt God calling me to write more. I had no idea that I would need it for myself. This was just another instance of God’s perfect timing. God knew what was coming and he wanted to prepare me. He used “When You Go Through the Water” and “Plans, Prayer, & God” to give me peace. I am so thankful he did.

I also want to touch a little bit on praying for financial blessings and personal wants. I struggled for years about praying for financial blessings. I was afraid that God would see it as selfish. I kept on hearing the following verse in my head:

James 4:2-3 “..Yet you don’t have what you want because you don’t ask God for it. 3 And even when you ask, you don’t get it because your motives are all wrong—you want only what will give you pleasure.”

I have heard the last part of James 4:2 quoted often. It is usually by those preachers of the “name it, claim it” variety. It is very popular because it tickles our ears. Yes, it would be great to say that I don’t have the desires of my heart because I have not asked for it because that would mean all I have to do is ask and God will give it to me. But I don’t believe that is the case. I think verse 3 makes it clear that what we are asking for should not be purely for pleasure. We can ask for financial blessings, but we must look at the motive behind our want. Do we want to be financially blessed so we can show off to our friends or family? Do we want to have money to use for an ungodly purpose? I am going to be perfectly honest here, when I asked God to bless my family financially my motives were to have a happy husband who feels rewarded for his hard work , have my financial needs met along with some wants, and to have abundant money to fund our ministries. God is the supplier to all our needs and we not need to be afraid to ask him for anything as long as our heart is right.

I want to be clear. I have faith that God is honoring my prayer. The circumstances may not show it now but I know God is working. I am trusting in the plan that God has for our lives. After all, God’s words says that he has a plan to prosper and not harm us, a plan to give us a hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11). If he said it; it is true. Today, I am choosing to walk by and live by faith.

Lord, thank you in advance for your answered prayer. I am in constant awe of your goodness. I am standing firm on your word. I know you have a plan to prosper me and my family. I know your plan may involve some bumpy roads, but I trust I won’t have to travel alone. Please help us discern the right path and help us make Godly choices. Thank you again for the many blessings you have bestowed upon me and help me to be ever mindful of those blessings. In Jesus’ name I pray, AMEN!

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

Leave a Reply

