When You Pass Through the Waters

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, Nor will the flame burn you. Isaiah 43:2

God never promises us that we will not go through hard times. He does, however, promise that he will be with us during those hard times. If you are anything like I was, this may provide little comfort in the midst of your pain. [Ooh..how can you say that? I can hear the murmurings now. Let me be clear; I am a strong Christian woman with a strong faith in my Lord God, but I intend to be very real here. I am not a preacher nor do I have any degree or formal education in religious studies; I am a regular woman, just like you, with real issues and I haven’t always had the most Godly perspective. God is changing those perspectives and calling me to help others do the same. ]

I could always recognize God’s hand in my situation after the storm had passed, but I often felt alone during the storm. And why is that you ask? I felt alone during the storm not because I was alone but because I alienated myself from God. Let me repeat that. I alienated God. God did not leave me, I left God. Like many women, I have control issues. I spent many years in a yo-yo relationship with God because I was in a constant battle for control. As long as life was going as planned, my relationship with God was strong. But as soon as he threw something at me I didn’t like, I became angry and distant. It is not that I didn’t have faith that he would pull me through it, I was mad that I had to go through it at all. I often thought “hey, I am a good person, why does stuff like this happen to me” and “so and so is not a Christian but look how great her life is going.”

Sounding familiar? Here’s the truth (and you’re not going to like my answer): God has a plan for your life and you are going to have to go through things you don’t want to go through, do things you don’t want to do, and hear things you don’t want to hear (I did warn you that you weren’t going to like what I said). I know you were hoping I would say something new and life changing; something you had never heard before that would somehow make it easy, but all you got was the same lame answer you have heard time and time again. The truth is God has already given us all the answers. We just have to look for them and then believe them.

Jeremiah 29:11 says “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

What you are going through right now stinks. You will get no argument from me. You may be angry, you may be mad, you may think it is unfair, but know this: God will use it to make you the person you are called to be if you allow him. The key here for me is “allow”. God will not force a relationship on you. He will not make you change. It has to be your choice. That being said, he may allow circumstance after circumstance to happen in your life to bring you closer to him or to make you a stronger Christian. Sometimes we can avoid a lot of unnecessary heartache if we just do it God’s way first. [Now we can get seriously off course if we start talking about whether or not God allows bad things to happen, whether he punishes us, etc.] The point I am trying to make here is that God has a plan for your life and sometimes you have to walk the hard road to become the person he created you to be.

I will venture to say that it is okay to have it out with God. Yell, scream, shout, and even through a temper tantrum if you want. I’ve done it many, many times. But when you are done, listen. Listen to what God is telling you. Let him comfort you. Let him give you peace. Allow him to walk with you. The storms will not last forever; the sun will shine again, and when that time comes, I promise you will see there is purpose to what you are going through right now.

I have a friend who went through a difficult time in her a marriage a year or so ago. It kind of came out of the blue and took us all by surprise. Her and her husband were able to work through it and her marriage is now stronger. My friend has a friend who is not a believer and she has been trying to reach her for years. Her friend is now going through almost the exact same thing that my friend did. My friend knows exactly what to tell her friend because she has gone through it herself. My friend is able to reach her friend on a whole new level that she would never would have been able to had she and her husband not just overcome the same situation. We are praying and believing that this situation will lead my friend’s friend to Christ.

You see, sometimes what you are going through has nothing to do with you at all. God may have you walk a road just so you can help someone else. My friend told me that if God had asked her if she would be willing to go through what she went through if it was to save someone else’s marriage or bring someone to Him, she would have gladly said “yes”. I’m glad she recognized that after the fact, but what we need to do is take hold of that in the forefront. You see, we don’t need to know the “why” behind God’s plans; we just have to have faith. After all, faith is believing without seeing.

Today, Lord, I am trusting you and the plans you have for my life. I humble myself before you asking you to use me as you see fit. May my selfish nature die to your will for my life and may every word I speak, every word I write, and every song I sing, be to glorify you my Lord and King. In Jesus’ name I pray, AMEN!

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

6 thoughts on “When You Pass Through the Waters

  1. You are exactly right. The things we go through are not just about us. Someone that God has connected to us may not be as strong and need our tenacity and testimony to get through their situation.

    1. I appreciate what you are doing as well. It can’t be easy for you to share everything you do, but it is so desperately needed. My mother is bipolar, so the issue is close to my heart. So, thank you for stepping out in faith.

  2. Mmmm. The post was gut-level honesty, which I can appreciate. The comment dialogue is lovely, too! Good stuff to wrestle with.

    I continue to hope that the process of redemption of my “hard stuff” is going to be glorifying to God. Somehow, though it was all painful, I know that nothing is ever wasted (unless I allow it) and all things really *can* work together for good…

Leave a Reply

