Thankful Thursdays-Week 3 (4/25/13)

Today is Thankful Thursday here at “Getting Real!” This is the day we take the time and thank God for at least one thing in our lives. I like to pick one thing that has stood out during my week. Please share your thanksgivings with us, so that others can see how God is working.

This week I realized just how thankful I am for my church!

When my family and friends left our non-denominational church to find a church that was more suited to our “growing” needs, I said I would try anything, but I was not going to a Methodist Church. Absolutely Not (with a foot stomp and everything)! I believed Methodist Churches to be boring, traditional, and full of older people. I fought God all the way, but I am now a member The Williamsport United Methodist Church and very grateful to be one.

Until last year, the WUMC was like most traditional Methodist Churches, but the pastor and the members knew that in order to grow the church, some changes were needed. They brought in some contemporary worship along with the hymns, took out some of the traditions, while hanging on to the ones most valued, and added more programs suited for a younger generation. These changes have not been easy for all members, especially those who have been around for generations. They loved their church just how it was. It was well suited for them. They knew how to run it to perfection. However, they heard God calling and they listened. You see, they realized that ministry costs and they were willing to pay the price for Jesus. I don’t know why this surprised me because even before we started growing, this little church already ran a clothes closet, food pantry, and a Sunday evening Coffee House with live bands and free meals. They did this all with a congregation of an average of less than 30 people every Sunday! PTL!

I tell you this not to boast but to show that you are never too old or never too small to do great things for God. So today, I would like to show my appreciation and give thanks for those who have been willing to step out of their comfort zone and say “Yes” to God.

Lord, I thank you for my wonderful church. I thank you for those who gave unselfishly to better serve you. Please continue to comfort them as we continue to make changes to grow your kingdom and give them peace to know that their sacrifices will not be in vain. Place your hand on the Williamsport United Methodist Church, Lord, and help us be the light of the world as you instruct and a church on a hill, which can never be hidden. In Jesus’ name I pray, AMEN!

Please share what you are thankful for this week. It doesn’t have to be a long diatribe. A line or two will suffice. I just think it is important to take time to thank the Lord and let others see his goodness.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

One thought on “Thankful Thursdays-Week 3 (4/25/13)

Leave a Reply

