Why Do Some Christians Not Read the Bible Every Day? Part One

As I stated on Friday, I will be doing a series on why I think some Christians don’t read the Bible every day. I have done some research, but this series is mostly based on prayer and my feelings-nothing too scholarly.

When most Christians are asked why they don’t read their bibles every day, I think that most would answer “time”. We tend to believe our schedules are too full to fit in bible reading every day. If we are “seasoned” Christians, we often tell ourselves that we don’t need to read the bible every day. After all, we can just meditate on what we already know. I mean we have been Christians for years, we know most everything in there, right? If we are new Christians, sometimes it is just a matter of not being in the habit or not knowing any better. I think the truth more lies with our priorities. We make time for what is important to us. I make sure my kids are fed, clean, get to school, participate in all their favorite activities, and go to church. These are absolutes in my household. I have always wanted to have a family devotion every night, but I have yet to make that a priority in my house, and therefore, we still don’t have family devotions.

In Matthew 4:4 Jesus answered Satan “It is written : Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.”

I don’t know about you, but I rarely forget to eat nor am I too busy to eat at least once a day. I make eating food a priority. It is a necessity. It is an absolute. The bread of life should be no different. God’s word gives us many reasons to read our bibles. Let’s take a look at a few more:

“Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path ” (Psalm 119:105).

“All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work” (2 Timothy 3:16-17).

“I have hidden your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you” (Psalm 119:11).

The Bible not only helps us learn about God, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, it instructs us how to live our lives. There have been several occasions where I didn’t read my daily devotions and then I hit a bump in the road. When I went back later and read the devotion or devotions I missed, I found that it had exactly what I needed to get over that bump. However, since I didn’t read his word, that bump turned into a mountain and I suffered more because I wasn’t obedient in my reading.

“Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock. Though the rain comes in torrents and the flood waters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse because it is built on bedrock. But anyone who hears my teaching and doesn’t obey it is foolish, like a person who builds a house on sand. When the rains and floods come and the winds beat against that house, it will collapse with a might crash,” (Matthew 7:24-27).

If we are soaked in God’s word, we are refreshed and our minds are renewed. We will still have storms in our lives, but the storms will not bring us down. Satan will use any weakness he can find in us, but the word of God will win every time. We must be intentional to put on the full armor of God every day if we are to live out God’s call for our life and to resist Satan.

Ephesians 11-17 (NLT): “Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil. For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places. Therefore, put on every piece of God’s armor so you will be able to resist the enemy in the time of evil. Then after the battle you will still be standing firm. Stand your ground, putting on the belt of truth and the body armor of God’s righteousness. For shoes, put on the peace that comes from the Good News so that you will be fully prepared. In addition to all of these, hold up the shield of faith to stop the fiery arrows of the devil. Put on salvation as your helmet, and take the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.”

I also want to remind you in Matthew 4:1-11, Jesus answered the devil with scripture. I know there may be many different denominations reading this blog, so I don’t want to even start on the issues of rebuking the devil, praying out loud, etc; however, I would like to stress that if Jesus used scripture to resist the devil, then it only makes since that we should follow suit. Needless to say I’m sure, but if we don’t read our Bible we will not be able to answer Satan’s temptation with scripture.

It all comes back to our priorities. If you can’t find time to read at least one page in your Bible every day, you’re life is out of balance. Every day we must choose God over the world. We must choose to have a relationship with him. I’ve heard people say that it is best to schedule a time every day to sit down and read God’s word. They recommend that you pick the same time every day, preferably in the morning. That works for some people. I used to use my lunch time because I took a lunch every day, without fail. It got me into a great pattern and I learned how much easier my life was when I renewed my mind daily. However, a daily routine does not work for some people. In the long run, my lunch hour did not work for me. I found that if I missed by designated time, I did not make it up. If I missed for several days, I had a hard time getting back on track. Over time I have found I do better without a set schedule. I have made a promise to myself and God that I will read every day, so if at bed time I have yet to do my daily reading, I have to do it then, no if and or buts about it. It works for me. You have to find what works for you.

When we become true followers of Jesus Christ, it will cost. It will cost us our time, our money, our wants, and so much more. Think back a minute on the reblog I posted on Friday (if you have not read it, I suggest you do so when you’re done here). If we got both fists clenched around the things of this world, there is no room for God to work. So, let me just ask now, what is it costing you to follow Jesus Christ?

I encourage you all to take a moment today to evaluate your devotion time with God. Is God your number one priority and does your daily schedule reflect that truth? If not, what needs to give?

Please check back tomorrow, as I plan to further expand on the reasons more Christians do not read the Bible every day.

Until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

Leave a Reply

