Thankful Thursdays

I have seen this on a few other blogs and I would like to try this at “Getting Real” I would like to dedicate my blog every Thursday to giving thanks. Therefore, every Thursday I would like us all to list at least one thing we are thankful for. Some weeks may be harder than others, but we can all find at least one thing to list so others can see and have hope in Jesus Christ.

When I think of thankfulness, I am often reminded of the following question:”What if we woke up tomorrow with only the things we thanked God for yesterday? If this happened, I would more than likely be found in a very sorry state. I’ll admit it, I often forget to thank God. I don’t just forget to thank God for the little things, but I forget the big things as well.

So today, Lord, I want to say thank you for all the wonderful blessings you have bestowed on me. I sometimes get busy and I take things for granted. Thank you for my loving husband, my wonderful kids (even my teenagers), my family, and my church. I am thankful that I have a nice home, where there is always an abundance of food and I can take a hot bath every night if I want to. I am grateful that my family and friends are healthy and that I have a God who can heal if they ever need it. Most of all I am thankful that I have a Lord and Savior who hears me when I call and walks with me through this life. I know it sounds corny, but we all need to do this more often.

Psalm 107: 1 (& Michael W. Smith) says to “Give thanks to the Lord; for he is good; his love endures forever. How thankful am I that no matter what I do God’s love for me will endure forever. It gives me confidence to get back up when I fall.

1 Chronicles 16:8 says “O give thanks to the Lord, call on his name; make known His doings among the people. I believe it is important for us to give thanks to God out loud so others can see what he is doing in the lives of his people. God is not a respecter of persons and what he does for one he will do for another. Thanksgiving is also contagious. The more I praise and thank God, the more others around me will do the same.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 says “give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” As children of God we are called to give thanks; period; no excuses. This reminds me of one of my favorite songs “Praise You in the Storm” by Casting Crowns.

My Praise of Thanksgiving for April 11, 2013:

THANK YOU LORD FOR MY DAUGHTER EMILY GRACE. HAPPY SWEET SIXTEEN PRINCESS!!!

Today is my oldest daughter Emily’s 16th birthday and I am thankful God gave her to me. She is a wonderful young women who is destined for greatness. I became a mother at 18 and I have never regretted it. She was the reason I turned back to God and started going to church again. My mother raised me in church and I wanted my children to have the same experience. This whole turning 16 is a lot harder than I thought it would be. The thought of her driving scares me to death. I am grateful that in Indiana we have a few more months before she can drive on her own. I know I have to put her in God’s hands, but for a control freak like me, it is easier said than done.

Happy Sweet 16!
Happy Sweet 16!

Don’t forget to let me know what you are most thankful for this week, and until next time, stay safe and God bless,
Missy

12 thoughts on “Thankful Thursdays

  1. I am thankful that God heard my prayers yesterday when I lost my windshield wiper yesterday driving home in the storm.. I prayed for Him to let up on the rains so I could see to drive home and it did let up and I made it home without the rain till after I got home. Thank you Jesus!

    1. Praise the Lord! I know how scary that can be because it happened to me a few years ago. Windshield wipers are one of those things you take for granted and don’t think much about until you don’t have them anymore. Glad to see you made it hope safely. 🙂

  2. i am thankful that I have a body that can move mostly when & where I want it too. and that I am able to exercise anytime I can. Thank you God for my healthy body. Please let it continue to be strong for as long as possible.

  3. I am thankful for being a child of God. Really,its great to hav sm1 hu is ever loving and patient wv me…w even i cant be this way with myself…thank u lord.
    missyB , great post by the way…

    1. Thank you. I am glad you mentioned his patience because I rely on his patience a great deal but I don’t necessarily thank him for it. Great reminder. God Bless!

  4. What a great idea! Dedicating one day just to give thanks 🙂 brilliant! Well let me start by being thankful for a cluttered house, because that means I have more than enough stuff! Maybe wayyy too much!

Leave a Reply

