Superman or Clark Kent?

250px-Superman_shield

Sadly, I don’t remember much of what I learned in Sunday school; however, one of the things I do remember vividly is that many Jews rejected Jesus because he wasn’t the messiah they were looking for or wanted. They were wanting a strong warrior, someone to save them (physically) from the Roman oppression. I remember thinking, “who could not want Jesus?”

My little third grade mind could not wrap my head around it. My thirty-five year old mind can’t either. Now, that being said, this past week I got a little different perspective.

Maybe, just maybe, disappointment played a part.

Picture yourself in their shoes. Wouldn’t you want to be freed from the control of a tyrant government? Wouldn’t you want your Savior to come in riding a white horse like a knight or conquering hero? Come on, be honest, who would you want to show up for your rescue, Superman or Clark Kent?

Last week I was surprised to find that I was holding on to some disappointment. A few years ago I went through a pretty tough battle. I was wrongly accused, wrongly attacked, and wrongly convicted in the eyes of many people. To make matters worse (or better), I stayed pretty quiet through the whole thing (now I did discuss the issue with a few close friends). Why? Because God was asking me to let Him and Him alone defend me.

He 100% absolutely came through. He defended me. I was surprised. I was honored. I was so honored that it took me a long time to realize that I was a little disappointed. I didn’t realize it until it happened to me again.

A few weeks ago I got into a disagreement with some people very close to me. There is not a doubt in my mind (and others) that I was wronged. But as it happens in life, the situation got flipped, and somehow I come off looking like the bad guy. I knew that there was nothing I could do to change things, so once again, I left the defending to God.

It has been slow coming. It is coming, but not in the manner I would like. And then it hit me. Hey, this happened last time! God showed up all meek and mild in my defense. Yes, it worked, but I want a big announcement. I want everyone to know that I am right. I want everyone to know that I am the victim.

I have been hurt. I want vindicated. I want justice. I want a warrior.

As we have seen in Ferguson, MO, our quest for justice can lead us down a dark road. It can bring more anger, hurt, and harm than the original offense.

God is defending me, but in little ways. Why so subtle? He is leading by example. God wants us to be meek.

Titus 3:2-To speak evil of no man, to be no brawlers, [but] gentle, shewing all meekness unto all men.

Matthew 5:5 – Blessed [are] the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.

Matthew 11:29 – Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

Psalms 25:9 – The meek will he guide in judgment: and the meek will he teach his way.

God wants us to be humble.

Matthew 18:4 -Whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

James 1:19-20-Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger; for the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God.

Matthew 23:12 -Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Ephesians 4:2 -With all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love,

Just like in high school or college, some of the best learning in our Christian walk comes from hands on experience.

Furthermore, a gentleman in my Sunday school classed gave me more insight.  He said, “Missy, do you suppose it is because God loves them too?”

Hmmm.  God loves them too.  God loves my betrayers too.  Hmmm.

He went on to say that not only is God wanting me to grow in my humbleness and meekness but also in the distribution of grace.  After all, I have been given many reprieves from God and others when I have done or been less than honorable.  I have to be willing to extend the same grace I have been given.

Words of truth there for sure!

Now, make no mistakes about it, Jesus is our great and mighty Messiah. He is a warrior. He goes to battle for us each and every day. In addition, the strong warrior, the powerful Messiah the Jews were expecting, will be Jesus in the 2nd coming. As powerful He is and was as a meek and humble God, imagine what he will do in the battle against the anti-Christ!

Just today, I was reminded once again how faithful God is. Once again, when I thought that deck was stacked against me, God came up with the Ace!

If he does it for me, he will do it for you.

Have a little faith (the size of a mustard seed even) and be still! After all, if you are busy fighting your own battles, why do you need God to do it. I don’t know about you, but I think God does a much better job.

Matthew 17:20- Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

Exodus 14:14- The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

Be blessed and be a blessing,
Missy

2 thoughts on “Superman or Clark Kent?”

  1. Dear Missy,

    I have missed blogging for a couple of months because of birthday season and an incredibly busy summer schedule. So, I do apologize because you have given me a lot of good insights in your previous writings.

    But I have to say that God’s timing here was just impeccable: This post was exactly what I was needing to read today. Oh, I have so identified with what you have to say about unfair accusations and the hunger for strong and speedy vindication. You will be in my prayers. (And I would covet your prayers for me for the same kind of reasons — at least, the same kind of emotional pressures — that are driving you to your knees on your own behalf.)

    What a blessing you are! No doubt to me, as well as to many other people who may not take the time to say as much.

    May God bless you and give you peace as you keep seeking Jesus in the midst of trials. At times like this, I sometimes like to soak myself in Revelations 22:1-5, and think of better days to come.

    You are in my thankful prayers. Keep on keeping on!

    Hugs,

    Gwennon

Leave a Reply

